Skip to main content

2022 NFL Comeback Player of the Year Odds and Betting Breakdown

Derrick Henry, Tennessee Titans

A quarterback has won the award four years in a row but can Derrick Henry or Christian McCaffrey break that trend?

The NFL Comeback Player of the Year (CPOY) award is normally reserved for a player who suffers a serious injury and proceeds to deliver significant production in his return the following season.

In the 2022 NFL CPOY betting odds, Titans running back Derrick Henry is the favorite at +400 at DraftKings. The 2020 Offensive Player of the Year fractured his foot after scoring 10 touchdowns in just eight games last season. Despite making a return in the Titans’ playoff game against Cincinnati, Henry is still eligible to win this season’s award.

Fans of New Orleans will find two pivotal Saints players ranked inside the top five betting choices. Quarterback Jameis Winston, who suffered a torn ACL in Week 7 against Tampa Bay, is the second overall betting choice at +550, while star wide receiver Michael Thomas is the fifth overall option at +800. Thomas, who missed the entire 2021 season due to an ankle injury, has looked outstanding thus far in training camp.

Last season, the 2021 NFL COPY award was awarded to Cincinnati quarterback Joe Burrow after leading the Bengals to their first Super Bowl appearance since 1989. In Week 10 of the 2020 season, Burrow suffered a torn ACL against Washington. The 2019 Heisman Trophy winner returned to throw for 4,611 yards and 34 touchdowns in his sophomore campaign.

Despite a quarterback winning the CPOY award four straight years, one player who poses as an intriguing investment is Carolina running back Christian McCaffrey at +750. The veteran back, who has played just 10 games over the last two seasons, is being selected in the top five of fantasy football drafts with the expectation that the Panthers' offense will be much improved with Baker Mayfield now under center.

Bettors should pump the brakes prior to investing on a defensive player in this market as Kansas City safety Eric Berry (2015) is the only player on that side of the ball to win the award in the last 14 years.

2022 NFL Comeback Player of the Year Odds

  • Derrick Henry +400
  • Jameis Winston +550
  • Christian McCaffrey +750
  • Daniel Jones +800
  • Michael Thomas +800
  • Deshaun Watson +1000
  • Baker Mayfield +1200
  • Mitchell Trubisky +1200
  • Chase Young +1400
  • J.K. Dobbins +1400
  • Marcus Mariota +1600
  • Cam Akers +2500
  • Allen Robinson +2500
  • JuJu Smith-Schuster +2500
  • Travis Etienne +2500
  • Danielle Hunter +3000
  • Drew Lock +4000
  • Chris Godwin +4000
  • Khalil Mack +4000
  • Trey Lance +5000
  • J.J. Watt +5000
  • Will Fuller +5000
  • Tre'Davious White +5000
  • Robert Woods +5000
  • Raheem Mostert +5000
  • Marcus Peters +5000
  • Odell Beckham +5000
  • Carl Lawson +6000
  • D.J. Chark +8000