2013-14 NCAA Tournament Projections

Who will Louisville face to defend the Cardinals' title?

It’s difficult enough to build a bracket in mid-March when conference tournaments are starting, the RPI is available and strength of schedule is established.

That won’t stop Athlon from taking an attempt to build the bracket in November as the first games begin at the end of the week. Of course, that shouldn’t stop you from preparing for the next Florida Gulf Coast or Wichita State.

We’ll be back looking at the bubble and seedings in February, but for now, here’s our first Bracket Breakdown, including team previews for much of the field.

2013-14 NCAA Tournament Projections
*indicates projected conference champion

  South Midwest East West
1 Kentucky* Louisville* Duke* Michigan State*
2 Oklahoma State Florida Kansas* Arizona*
3 Syracuse North Carolina Ohio State Michigan
4 Creighton Marquette* New Mexico* Notre Dame
5 VCU* Tennessee Memphis UNLV
6 Baylor Wisconsin UCLA Connecticut
7 Wichita State* Boise State Gonzaga* Harvard*
8 Indiana San Diego State Saint Louis Virginia
9 Oregon LSU Iowa Colorado
10 Missouri Georgetown Pittsburgh Villanova
11 Cincinnati Iowa State St. John's Florida State
12 New Mexico State* Louisiana Tech* Purdue Arizona State
      UMass Xavier
13 Western Kentucky* Buffalo* Iona* Green Bay*
14 North Dakota State* Boston U* Towson* UC Irvine*
15 Eastern Kentucky* Florida Gulf Coast Elon* Montana*
16 Northwestern State* LIU Brooklyn* Southern* High Point*
  Norfolk State* Vermont*    

NCAA Tournament Field by Conference

ACC (7): Duke, Florida State, North Carolina, Notre Dame, Pittsburgh, Syracuse, Virginia
America East: Vermont
American (4): Cincinnati, Connecticut, Louisville, Memphis
Atlantic 10 (3): Saint Louis, UMass, VCU
Big 12 (4): Baylor, Iowa State, Kansas, Oklahoma State
Big East (6): Creighton, Georgetown, Marquette, St. John’s, Villanova, Xavier
Big Sky: Montana
Big South: High Point
Big Ten (7): Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Purdue, Wisconsin
Big West: UC Irvine
Colonial: Towson
Conference USA: Louisiana Tech
Horizon: Green Bay
Ivy: Harvard
MAAC: Iona
MAC: Buffalo
MEAC: Norfolk State
Missouri Valley: Wichita State
Mountain West (4): Boise State, New Mexico, San Diego State, UNLV
Northeast: LIU Brooklyn
Ohio Valley: Eastern Kentucky
Pac-12 (5): Arizona, Arizona State, Colorado, Oregon, UCLA
Patriot: Boston University
SEC (5): Florida, Kentucky, LSU, Missouri, Tennessee
Southern: Elon
Southland: Northwestern State
Summit: North Dakota State
Sun Belt: Western Kentucky
SWAC: Southern
WAC: New Mexico State
West Coast: Gonzaga


ACC: Boston College, Georgia Tech, Maryland, Miami, NC State
American: SMU, Temple
Atlantic 10: Dayton, La Salle, Rhode Island
Big 12: Kansas State, Oklahoma
Big East: Providence, Seton Hall
Big Ten: Illinois, Minnesota
Colonial: Drexel
MAC: Akron
Missouri Valley: Bradley, Indiana State, Northern Iowa
Mountain West: Utah State
Pac-12: Cal, Oregon State, Stanford, Washington
SEC: Alabama, Arkansas, Ole Miss, Texas A&M
West Coast: BYU, Saint Mary’s

More Stories: