Athlon Sports' 2020-21 NCAA Tournament Projections

Here are the 68 teams that Athlon thinks will get a shot at getting to the 2021 Final Four in Indianapolis

College basketball fans missed out on March Madness in 2020 because of the COVID-19 pandemic, but the 2020-21 season appears ready to start on Nov. 25 and hopefully will actually finish next spring with the return of the Big Dance.


Projecting the NCAA Tournament is difficult enough in March when teams have a season of games and data to look at. That task is even more challenging at the start of a season with so much uncertainty and no closure from the previous campaign.


However, that won't stop Athlon Sports from taking our best shot to build the bracket in November as the season kicks off. While there's always time for more surprises — few saw Dayton and San Diego State as potential No. 1 seeds at this point last year — we are projecting eight conferences to send multiple teams to the Big Dance this season.


2020-21 NCAA Tournament Projected Field


*indicates projected conference champion


  South Midwest East West
1 Baylor* Virginia* Villanova* Gonzaga*
2 Creighton Kansas* Wisconsin* Iowa
3 Illinois Duke Texas Tech Tennessee*
4 Arizona State Michigan State UCLA* North Carolina
5 Michigan West Virginia Kentucky Rutgers
6 LSU Auburn Florida State Richmond*
7 Houston* Florida Texas Louisville
8 Seton Hall Indiana Alabama Connecticut
9 Miami Oregon Ohio State Oklahoma
10 Stanford USC Georgia Tech Arkansas
11 San Diego State* Purdue Texas A&M Memphis
11   Providence Saint Louis  
12 Loyola* Western Kentucky* Austin Peay* Yale*
13 Ohio* New Mexico State* Siena* Delaware*
14 Vermont* Wright State* UC Irvine* Lipscomb*
15 Furman* Little Rock* Colgate* South Dakota State*
16 North Carolina A&T* Fairleigh Dickinson* Texas Southern* Stephen F. Austin*
  Eastern Washington*     Winthrop*

NCAA Tournament Field by Conference

ACC (7): Virginia, Duke, North Carolina, Florida State, Louisville, Miami, Georgia Tech
America East: Vermont
American (2): Houston, Memphis
Atlantic 10 (2): Richmond, Saint Louis

Atlantic Sun: Lipscomb
Big 12 (6): Baylor, Kansas, Texas Tech, West Virginia, Texas, Oklahoma
Big East (5): Villanova, Creighton, Seton Hall, Connecticut, Providence
Big Sky: Eastern Washington
Big South: Winthrop
Big Ten (9): Wisconsin, Iowa, Illinois, Michigan State, Michigan, Rutgers, Indiana, Ohio State, Purdue
Big West: UC Irvine
Colonial: Delaware
Conference USA: Western Kentucky
Horizon: Wright State
Ivy: Yale
MAAC: Siena
MAC: Ohio
MEAC: North Carolina A&T
Missouri Valley: Loyola
Mountain West: San Diego State
Northeast: Fairleigh Dickinson
Ohio Valley: Austin Peay
Pac-12 (5): UCLA, Arizona State, Oregon, Stanford, USC
Patriot: Colgate
SEC (8): Tennessee, Kentucky, LSU, Auburn, Florida, Alabama, Arkansas, Texas A&M
Southern: Furman
Southland: Stephen F. Austin
Summit: South Dakota State
Sun Belt: Little Rock
SWAC: Texas Southern
WAC: New Mexico State
West Coast: Gonzaga

Include in Acu Data Feed: 
Exclude from Acu-data Feed

More Stories: