Skip to main content

March Madness: 2020 Dates for the NCAA Men's Basketball Tournament

When Does March Madness Start and End in 2020?

When Does March Madness Start and End in 2020?

The NCAA announced on Thursday that the 2020 NCAA men's Division I basketball tournament was canceled due to the ongoing coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. The announcement was part of a larger decision made by the NCAA to cancel all winter and spring championships, including basketball (men and women's), baseball, softball, tennis (men's and women's), and outdoor track and field. The NCAA's decision was preceded by the cancellation of 15 men's basketball conference tournaments by 15 conferences.


The 2020 NCAA Tournament will officially commence with Selection Sunday on March 15. Once the field of 68 teams is revealed the games will begin with the "First Four" in Dayton, Ohio, on March 17-18.

The madness kicks up a notch with the first and second rounds from March 19-22. The field will get narrowed down even more the following week with the four regionals (where the Sweet 16 and Elite Eight take place) scheduled for March 26-29. This year's Final Four is scheduled to be in Atlanta on April 4 with the national champion to be determined on April 6.

Here's a complete rundown of the 2020 NCAA Tournament:

Sunday, March 15 – Selection Sunday

Tuesday, March 17 & Wednesday, March 18 – First Four (Dayton, Ohio)

Thursday, March 19 & Saturday, March 21 – First and Second Rounds (Albany, N.Y.; Spokane, Wash.; St. Louis, Mo.; Tampa, Fla.)

Friday, March 20 & Sunday, March 22 – First and Second Rounds (Greensboro, N.C.; Omaha, Neb.; Sacramento, Calif.; Cleveland)

Thursday, March 26 & Saturday, March 28 – Midwest (Indianapolis) and West (Los Angeles) Regionals

Friday, March 27 & Sunday, March 29 – South (Houston) and East Regionals (New York City)

Saturday, April 4 – Final Four (Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta)

Monday, April 6 – National Championship (Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta)

And for those who like to plan ahead, here are future dates and locations for the Final Four:

April 3 & 5, 2021 – Lucas Oil Stadium (Indianapolis)

April 2 & 4, 2022 – Mercedes-Benz Superdome (New Orleans)

April 1 & 3, 2023 – NRG Stadium (Houston)

April 6 & 8, 2024 – State Farm Stadium (Glendale, Ariz.)

April 5 & 7, 2025 – Alamodome (San Antonio)

April 4 & 6, 2026 – Lucas Oil Stadium (Indianapolis)