Skip to main content

13 Statistical Highlights from LSU vs. Ole Miss Games


LSU and Ole Miss will meet for the 102nd time on Saturday, when the Tigers hosts the Rebels in Baton Rouge. Les Miles’ crew bounced back from the heartbreaking loss to Alabama and defeated Mississippi State last week, 37-17. Ole Miss has dropped two in a row but could make the postseason for the first time since 2009 with a victory over the Tigers. In honor of its famous Halloween game, here are 13 statistical highlights focusing on the history between these two longtime rivals that first played in 1894.

1959: This Halloween night game was one of the best in SEC history. Both teams were 6-0 with amazing defenses. LSU had outscored its opponents 103-6 on the year, while Ole Miss had bested its foes by a whopping 189-7 differential. The game’s only touchdown would come on one of the most famous plays in all of college football, Billy Cannon’s 89-yard punt return to beat Ole Miss 7-3. Cannon would go on to win the Heisman Trophy that season.

1: Bowl meeting between Ole Miss and LSU. It took place on January 1, 1960, at the Sugar Bowl. Johnny Vaught’s Rebels got revenge for the aforementioned 7-3 loss earlier in the season, beating the Tigers in dominant fashion by the score of 21-0.

3: National Championships for each school. LSU won it all in 1958, 2003 and 2007, while Ole Miss claimed titles in 1959, 1960 and 1962.

4: Games in this series since it was termed the “Magnolia Bowl”. Ole Miss won the trophy in 2008-09, while LSU has prevailed in the last two meetings.

101: Meetings in this series, with LSU leading 57-39-4.

13: Consecutive seasons with at least eight wins for LSU. That mark is an all-time school record.

1: Player in Ole Miss history to score a passing, rushing and receiving touchdown in the same game. Quarterback Bo Wallace achieved the feat earlier this season against Auburn.

1998: LSU’s first-ever overtime game, a 37-31 loss to Ole Miss. The Rebels held a 28-10 halftime lead, but the Tigers would storm back with 21 fourth-quarter points. Romaro Miller hit Cory Peterson for a 25-yard TD pass to start OT, and the Ole Miss defense held LSU’s Herb Tyler and Kevin Faulk-led attack out of the end zone for the win.

1: Day game at Tiger Stadium this season. That will be Saturday’s matchup at 2:30 pm CST.

5: Tigers with over 50 yards rushing in last year’s 52-3 win over the Rebels. The five LSU ball carriers were Alfred Blue, Spencer Ware, Kenny Hilliard, Terrence Magee and Michael Ford.

38: Uniform number at Ole Miss of the late Chucky Mullins, who was paralyzed in 1989 after making a tackle against Vanderbilt. A Rebels player is honored each year with the Chucky Mullins Courage Award, and this season No. 38 is senior defensive end Jason Jones.

26: Total points allowed by LSU in the first quarter this season (10 games).

33: Times that Ole Miss has scored in 35 red zone trips this season. That 94.3-percernt mark tops the SEC.