Skip to main content

ACC 2017 Season Awards and All-Conference Team

Lamar Jackson, Louisville Cardinals Football

Lamar Jackson, Louisville Cardinals Football

The ACC was arguably the best conference in college football during the 2016 season, and while the 2017 edition wasn't quite as strong, this year was still another standout fall on the gridiron. Clemson finished the regular season as the No. 1 seed for the College Football Playoff and is making its third consecutive trip to the four-team championship behind coach Dabo Swinney. Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson earned a trip to New York and finished third in Heisman voting, Miami claimed its first Coastal Division title, and Virginia Tech went 9-3 in coach Justin Fuente's second year in Blacksburg. The league also had 10 of its teams reach bowl eligibility, including Boston College (7-5), Virginia (6-6) and Wake Forest (7-5).

Image placeholder title

With the regular season completed and bowl season starting on Dec. 16, it’s time to recap and look back at the 2017 campaign. Athlon Sports offers its awards and honors the best players in the league with the first, second and third all-conference teams for the ACC:

ACC 2017 Awards

Offensive Player of the Year: Lamar Jackson, QB, Louisville

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

Defensive Player of the Year: Bradley Chubb, DE, NC State

Coach of the Year: Mark Richt, Miami

Freshman of the Year (Offense): AJ Dillon, RB, Boston College

Freshman of the Year (Defense): Brenton Nelson, DB, Virginia

Breakout Player: Mark Gilbert, CB, Duke

ACC 2017 All-Conference Team


First-Team Offense

Second-Team Offense

Third-Team Offense


Lamar Jackson Louisville 

John Wolford Wake Forest 

Ryan Finley NC State 


AJ Dillon Boston College 

KirVonte Benson Georgia Tech 

Travis Homer Miami 


Nyheim Hines NC State 

Travis Etienne Clemson 

Ervin Phillips (WR) Syracuse 


Jaylen Samuels NC State 

Cam Akers (RB) Florida State 

Greg Dortch (WR) Wake Forest 


Steve Ishmael Syracuse 

Jaylen Smith Louisville 

Braxton Berrios Miami 


Cam Phillips Virginia Tech 

Kelvin Harmon NC State 

Olamide Zaccheaus Virginia 


Cam Serigne Wake Forest 

Christopher Herndon Miami 

Tommy Sweeney Boston College 


Ryan Anderson Wake Forest 

Austin Davis Duke 

Justin Falcinelli Clemson 


Mitch Hyatt Clemson 

Chris Lindstrom Boston College 

Parker Braun Georgia Tech  


Tony Adams NC State 

Geron Christian Louisville 

Brian O'Neill Pitt 


Will Richardson NC State 

Kc McDermott Miami 

Phil Haynes Wake Forest 


Wyatt Teller Virginia Tech 

Tyrone Crowder Clemson 

Shamire Devine Georgia Tech 






First-Team Defense

Second-Team Defense

Third-Team Defense


Bradley Chubb NC State 

Duke Ejiofor  Wake Forest 

Derrick Nnadi Florida State 


Clelin Ferrell Clemson 

Tim Settle Virginia Tech 

Zach Allen Boston College 


Christian Wilkins Clemson 

RJ McIntosh Miami 

Harold Landry Boston College 


Dexter Lawrence Clemson 

Austin Bryant Clemson 

Ricky Walker Virginia Tech 


Dorian O'Daniel Clemson 

Joe Giles-Harris Duke 

Jaboree Williams Wake Forest 


Tremaine Edmunds Virginia Tech 

Shaq Quarterman Miami 

Ty Schwab  Boston College 


Micah Kiser Virginia 

Parris Bennett Syracuse 

Andrew Motuapuaka Virginia Tech 


Greg Stroman Virginia Tech 

Jaire Alexander Louisville 

Avonte Maddox Pitt 


Mark Gilbert Duke 

Michael Jackson Miami 

M.J. Stewart North Carolina 


Derwin James Florida State 

Jaquan Johnson Miami 

Juan Thornhill (CB) Virginia 


Quin Blanding Virginia 

Lukas Denis Boston College 

Terrell Edmunds Virginia Tech 






First-Team Specialists

Second-Team Specialists

Third-Team Specialists


Cole Murphy Syracuse 

Michael Badgley Miami 

Mike Weaver Wake Forest 


Sterling Hofrichter Syracuse 

Ryan Winslow Pitt 

Lester Coleman Virginia 


Anthony Ratliff-Williams North Carolina 

Joe Reed Virginia 

Shaun Wilson Duke 


Greg Stroman Virginia Tech 

Quadree Henderson Pitt 

Michael Walker Boston College