Skip to main content

Alabama RB Derrick Henry Wins 2015 Heisman Trophy

Derrick Henry

Derrick Henry

Alabama running back Derrick Henry claimed the 2015 Heisman Trophy on Saturday night as college football’s most outstanding player, edging Stanford running back Christian McCaffrey and Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson for the No. 1 spot.

Image placeholder title

Henry is the second Alabama player to win the Heisman Trophy over the last seven seasons. Additionally, the junior is only the second Crimson Tide player to claim the Heisman, joining Mark Ingram (2009) in the exclusive club.

Henry recorded 1,832 total points in voting, followed by Stanford running back Christian McCaffrey at No. 2 (1,539) and Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson (1,165). Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield finished fourth, while Navy quarterback Keenan Reynolds was fifth in the voting. 

Henry is also the first running back since Ingram to claim the Heisman Trophy. The last five Heisman winners after Ingram in 2009 were quarterbacks, including Oregon’s Marcus Mariota, Florida State’s Jameis Winston and Auburn’s Cam Newton.

Henry led the nation with 1,986 rushing yards this season and finished first among all players with 23 rushing scores. The junior recorded a whopping 339 carries and rushed for at least 200 yards in four out of his last seven games.

Henry will lead Alabama into the College Football Playoff on Dec. 31 against Michigan State.