American Athletic Conference Announces Division Alignment for 2015

Cincinnati leads a strong East Division.

The American Athletic Conference has announced its new divisional alignment for the 2015 season. With Navy set to join the league in 2015, the American Athletic Conference will have 12 teams and will play a championship game on a campus site at the end of the year.

Here are the divisional breakdowns for 2015 and beyond:

East CarolinaMemphis
South FloridaTulsa

On paper, the balance of power seems to be tilted to the East Division. UCF is the defending league champion, and Cincinnati has been one of the league’s top programs over the last five years.

However, the West Division features a solid program in Houston, along with an annual bowl team in Navy. Tulsa struggled in 2013 but is a program capable of winning the league title. And teams like Memphis, SMU and Tulane have made improvement in recent years.

And with the American Athletic Conference going with a friendly geographic alignment, this should be easy for the fans to remember.

More Stories: