Skip to main content

Athlon Sports' 2020 Preseason FCS All-America Team

Athlon Sports' 2020 Preseason FCS All-America Team

Athlon Sports' 2020 Preseason FCS All-America Team

North Dakota State quarterback Trey Lance leads the way on the Athlon 2020 Preseason FCS All-America Team — one of seven returnees from last year's postseason squad.

Lance became the first freshman to receive the Walter Payton Award as the FCS offensive player of the year and helped the Bison capture their third straight national title. Other returning All-Americans are wide receiver Samori Toure (Montana); offensive linemen P.J. Burkhalter (Nicholls), Liam Fornadel (James Madison) and Dillon Radunz (North Dakota State); and defensive backs Anthony Adams (Portland State) and Kordell Jackson (Austin Peay).

The talent remains widespread across the subdivision with the 26 All-Americans representing 19 schools and 11 conferences. Schools with multiple selections are Illinois State and Weber State with three each and Montana, North Dakota State and Sam Houston State with two each.

Athlon Sports' 2020 Preseason FCS All-America Team


QB    Trey Lance (6-3, 221, So.) North Dakota State

RB    Josh Davis (5-9, 195, Jr.) Weber State

RB    Jah-Maine Martin (5-10, 215, Sr.) North Carolina A&T

WR   Cade Johnson (5-10, 180, Sr.) South Dakota State

WR   Samori Toure (6-3, 190, Sr.) Montana

TE    Dalton Kincaid (6-5, 230, Jr.) San Diego

OL    P.J. Burkhalter (6-3, 330, Sr.) Nicholls

OL    Liam Fornadel (6-4, 308, Sr.) James Madison

OL    Drew Himmelman (6-10, 315, Sr.) Illinois State

OL    Dillon Radunz (6-6, 300, Sr.) North Dakota State

OL    Ty Whitworth (6-4, 300, Sr.) Weber State


DL    Malik Hamm (6-3, 260, Jr.) Lafayette

DL    Trace Mascorro (6-1, 275, Sr.) Sam Houston State

DL    Romeo McKnight (6-5, 260, Sr.) Illinois State

DL    Elerson Smith (6-7, 245, Sr.) Northern Iowa

LB    Troy Andersen (6-4, 233, Sr.) Montana State

LB    Bryson Armstrong (5-11, 212, Sr.) Kennesaw State

LB    Willie Eubanks III (6-2, 215, Sr.) The Citadel

DB    Anthony Adams (6-0, 180, Jr.) Portland State

DB    Brandon Easterling (6-0, 203, Sr.) Dayton

DB    Kordell Jackson (5-11, 163, Sr.) Austin Peay

DB    Devon Taylor (6-1, 200, Sr.) Illinois State

Special Teams

PK    Trey Tuttle (5-9, 190, Sr.) Weber State

P      Matt McRobert (6-2, 195, Sr.) Sam Houston State

KR    Malik Flowers (6-2, 195, Sr.) Montana

PR    Montrell Washington (5-10, 170, Sr.) Samford

— Compiled by Craig Haley, who is part of the Athlon Contributor Network. Haley has covered the FCS level since 1999 and is the national writer for He appears frequently on radio shows and podcasts to discuss everything FCS. Follow him on Twitter @CraigHaley.