Skip to main content

Athlon Sports' Spring 2021 Preseason FCS All-America Team

Athlon Sports' Spring 2021 Preseason FCS All-America Team

Athlon Sports' Spring 2021 Preseason FCS All-America Team



With much of FCS college football set to embark on a most unusual spring season, we're calling an audible with the Athlon Preseason All-America Team, revising it due to the many changes since it was first released last spring.

Incredibly, 12 original FCS All-Americans have transferred to FBS programs, ended their college careers to train for the NFL, or had their programs decide against playing in their conference's spring schedule.

About three-quarters of the 127 FCS teams plan to be in action this spring. The revised All-America team features 28 players from 20 schools and nine conferences. Missouri Valley Football Conference power Northern Iowa had a team-high three selections, while three-time defending FCS champion North Dakota State, James Madison, Nicholls, Sam Houston, Villanova, and Weber State garnered two each.

Athlon Sports' 2021 Spring Preseason FCS All-America Team


QB    Daniel Smith (6-0, 205, Sr.) Villanova

RB    Josh Davis (5-9, 195, Jr.) Weber State

RB*   Pierre Strong Jr. (5-11, 210, Jr.) South Dakota State

WR   Dai'Jean Dixon (6-4, 200, Sr.) Nicholls

WR   Christian Watson (6-4, 200, Jr.) North Dakota State

WR   Isaiah Weston (6-4, 210, Jr.) Northern Iowa

TE    Trae Barry (6-7, 245, Sr.) Jacksonville State

OL    P.J. Burkhalter (6-3, 330, Sr.) Nicholls

OL    Liam Fornadel (6-4, 308, Sr.) James Madison

OL    Drew Himmelman (6-10, 315, Sr.) Illinois State

OL    Cordell Volson (6-7, 310, Sr.) North Dakota State

OL    Ty Whitworth (6-4, 300, Sr.) Weber State


DL    Jared Brinkman (6-2, 290, Sr.) Northern Iowa

DL    Mike Greene (6-3, 285, Sr.) James Madison

DL    Malik Hamm (6-3, 260, Jr.) Lafayette

DL    Trace Mascorro (6-1, 270, Sr.) Sam Houston

LB    Bryson Armstrong (5-11, 212, Sr.) Kennesaw State

LB    Willie Eubanks III (6-2, 215, Sr.) The Citadel

LB    Forrest Rhyne (6-1, 225, Sr.) Villanova

DB    Omar Brown (6-1, 200, So.) Northern Iowa

DB    Evan Horn (6-0, 206, Sr.) New Hampshire

DB    Kordell Jackson (5-9, 185, Sr.) Austin Peay

DB    Ferlando Jordan (6-0, 180, Jr.) Southeastern Louisiana

Special Teams

PK    Luis Aguilar (6-3, 200, Sr.) Northern Arizona

P      Matt McRobert (6-2, 195, Sr.) Sam Houston

KR    Aaron Dykes (5-11, 195, So.) Richmond

PR    Montrell Washington (5-10, 170, Sr.) Samford

AP    Javon Williams Jr. (6-2, 245, So.) Southern Illinois

*Note: North Carolina A&T's Jah-Maine Martin was the original selection when the revised All-America Team was released prior to the Aggies opting out of playing this spring.

— Compiled by Craig Haley, who is part of the Athlon Contributor Network. Haley has covered the FCS level since 1999 and is the national writer for He appears frequently on radio shows and podcasts to discuss everything FCS. Follow him on Twitter @CraigHaley.

(Omar Brown photo courtesy of UNI Athletics)