Skip to main content
Publish date:

Big Ten 2016 Season Awards and All-Conference Team

J.T. Barrett

J.T. Barrett

The Big Ten is trending up at the end of the 2016 college football regular season. The conference has a strong argument as the best in the nation this year, as Ohio State finished No. 3 in the CFB Playoff selection committee rankings, with Michigan, Penn State and Wisconsin also inside of the final top 10. The Buckeyes ranked as the top team in the rankings, but the Nittany Lions edged the Badgers for the Big Ten title in Indianapolis. With Urban Meyer (Ohio State), James Franklin (Penn State), Paul Chryst (Wisconsin), Mark Dantonio (Michigan State) and Jim Harbaugh (Michigan) leading the way, the Big Ten has one of the best collections of coaches and has helped this league challenge the SEC for conference supremacy.

Image placeholder title

With the regular season completed and bowl season starting on Dec. 17, it’s time to recap and look back at the 2016 campaign. Athlon Sports offers its awards and honors the best players in the league with the first, second and third all-conference teams for the Big Ten:

Big Ten 2016 Season Awards

Offensive Player of the Year: J.T. Barrett, QB, Ohio State

Defensive Player of the Year: Malik Hooker, S, Ohio State

Coach of the Year: James Franklin, Penn State

Recommended Articles

Freshman of the Year (Offense): Mike Weber, RB, Ohio State

Freshman of the Year (Defense): Nick Bosa, DL, Ohio State

Offensive Coordinator of the Year: Joe Moorhead, Penn State

Defensive Coordinator of the Year: Don Brown, Michigan

Newcomer of the Year: Ryan Ramczyk, OL, Wisconsin

Breakout Player: Trace McSorley, QB, Penn State

Big Ten 2016 Postseason All-Conference Team


First-Team Offense

Second-Team Offense

Third-Team Offense


J.T. Barrett Ohio State 

Trace McSorley Penn State 

Clayton Thorson Northwestern 


Corey Clement Wisconsin 

Mike Weber Ohio State 

LeShun Daniels Iowa 


Saquon Barkley Penn State 

Justin Jackson Northwestern 

LJ Scott Michigan State 


Curtis Samuel Ohio State 

Rodney Smith (RB) Minnesota 

Akrum Wadley (RB) Iowa 


Austin Carr Northwestern 

DeAngelo Yancey Purdue 

Nick Westbrook Indiana 


Amara Darboh Michigan 

R.J. Shelton Michigan State 

Chris Godwin Penn State 


Jake Butt  Michigan 

Mike Gesicki Penn State 

Troy Fumagalli Wisconsin 


Pat Elflein Ohio State 

Mason Cole Michigan 

Beau Benzschawel (OL) Wisconsin 


Billy Price Ohio State 

Sean Welsh Iowa 

Ben Braden Michigan 


Erik Magnuson Michigan 

James Daniels Iowa 

Kyle Kalis Michigan 


Dan Feeney Indiana 

Brian Allen Michigan State 

Nick Gates Nebraska 


Ryan Ramczyk Wisconsin 

Jamarco Jones Ohio State 

Michael Dunn Maryland 






First-Team Defense

Second-Team Defense

Third-Team Defense


Jaleel Johnson Iowa 

Chris Wormley Michigan 

Jake Replogle Purdue 


Tyquan Lewis Ohio State 

Malik McDowell Michigan State 

Steven Richardson Minnesota 


Taco Charlton Michigan 

Ifeadi Odenigbo Northwestern 

Dawuane Smoot Illinois 


Ryan Glasgow Michigan 

Vince Biegel (LB) Wisconsin 

Garrett Sickels Penn State 


Raekwon McMillan Ohio State 

Anthony Walker Northwestern 

Brandon Bell Penn State 


Jabrill Peppers Michigan 

Tegray Scales Indiana 

Hardy Nickerson Illinois 


T.J. Watt Wisconsin 

Josey Jewell Iowa 

Riley Bullough Michigan State 


Jourdan Lewis Michigan 

Marshon Lattimore Ohio State 

Sojourn Shelton Wisconsin  


Desmond King Iowa 

Channing Stribling Michigan 

Gareon Conley Ohio State 


Malik Hooker Ohio State 

Leo Musso Wisconsin 

Marcus Allen Penn State 


Nathan Gerry Nebraska 

Godwin Igwebuike Northwestern 

Delano Hill Michigan 






First-Team Specialists

Second-Team Specialists

Third-Team Specialists


Emmit Carpenter Minnesota 

Tyler Davis Penn State 

Tyler Durbin Ohio State 


Cameron Johnston Ohio State 

Kenny Allen Michigan 

Ron Coluzzi Iowa 


Desmond King Iowa 

Parris Campbell Ohio State 

Solomon Vault Northwestern 


Jabrill Peppers Michigan 

Desmond King Iowa 

De'Mornay Pierson-El Nebraska