Skip to main content

Big Ten 2017 Season Awards and All-Conference Team

Saquon Barkley, Penn State Nittany Lions Football

Saquon Barkley, Penn State Nittany Lions Football

The Big Ten missed out on having a team make the College Football Playoff, but the 2017 season was still a good year for the league. Ohio State finished No. 5 in the final selection committee poll with an 11-2 record, while Wisconsin and Penn State both earned trips to New Year's Six bowl games. Michigan State rebounded from a 3-9 record in 2016 to a 9-3 mark this season. Additionally, Michigan finished 8-4 in coach Jim Harbaugh's third season in Ann Arbor, while Northwestern ended the year with a seven-game winning streak.

Image placeholder title

With the regular season completed and bowl season starting on Dec. 16, it’s time to recap and look back at the 2017 campaign. Athlon Sports offers its awards and honors the best players in the league with the first, second and third all-conference teams for the Big Ten:

Big Ten 2017 Awards

Offensive Player of the Year: Saquon Barkley, RB, Penn State

Defensive Player of the Year: Josey Jewell, LB, Iowa

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

Coach of the Year: Paul Chryst, Wisconsin

Freshman of the Year (Offense): Jonathan Taylor, RB, Wisconsin

Freshman of the Year (Defense): Paddy Fisher, LB, Northwestern

Newcomer of the Year: Nick Nelson, CB, Wisconsin

Breakout Player: Devin Bush, LB, Michigan

Big Ten 2017 All-Conference Team


First-Team Offense

Second-Team Offense

Third-Team Offense


J.T. Barrett Ohio State 

Trace McSorley Penn State 

Nate Stanley Iowa 


Jonathan Taylor Wisconsin 

Justin Jackson Northwestern 

Karan Higdon Michigan 


J.K. Dobbins Ohio State 

Akrum Wadley Iowa 

Rodney Smith Minnesota 


Saquon Barkley Penn State 

JD Spielman Nebraska 

Ty Johnson Maryland 


Simmie Cobbs Indiana 

Stanley Morgan Nebraska 

Parris Campbell Ohio State 


DJ Moore Maryland 

DaeSean Hamilton Penn State 

Felton Davis Michigan State 


Troy Fumagalli Wisconsin 

Mike Gesicki Penn State 

Noah Fant Iowa 


Billy Price Ohio State 

Brian Allen Michigan State 

Tommy Doles (OL) Northwestern 


David Edwards Wisconsin 

Sean Welsh Iowa 

Isaiah Prince Ohio State 


Jamarco Jones Ohio State 

Michael Jordan Ohio State 

David Beedle  Michigan State 


Michael Deiter Wisconsin 

Mason Cole Michigan 

Steven Gonzalez Penn State 


Beau Benzschawel Wisconsin 

Ben Bredeson Michigan 

Damian Prince Maryland 






First-Team Defense

Second-Team Defense

Third-Team Defense


Nick Bosa Ohio State 

Rashan Gary Michigan 

Joe Gaziano Northwestern 


Maurice Hurst Michigan 

Dre'Mont Jones Ohio State 

Tyler Lancaster Northwestern 


Chase Winovich Michigan 

Sam Hubbard Ohio State 

Gelen Robinson Purdue 


Tyquan Lewis Ohio State 

Khaleke Hudson (LB) Michigan 

Kenny Willekes MIchigan State 


Josey Jewell Iowa 

Joe Bachie Michigan State 

Alec James (DL) Wisconsin 


T.J. Edwards Wisconsin 

Nate Hall Northwestern 

Paddy Fisher Northwestern 


Tegray Scales Indiana 

Devin Bush Michigan 

Garret Dooley Wisconsin 


Josh Jackson Iowa 

Lavert Hill Michigan 

Rashard Fant Indiana 


Denzel Ward Ohio State 

Nick Nelson Wisconsin 

Amani Oruwariye Penn State 


Marcus Allen Penn State 

Godwin Igwebuike Northwestern 

David Dowell Michigan State 


D'Cota Dixon Wisconsin 

Kyle Queiro Northwestern 

Natrell Jamerson Wisconsin 






First-Team Specialists

Second-Team Specialists

Third-Team Specialists


Griffin Oakes Indiana 

Rafael Gaglianone Wisconsin 

Quinn Nordin Michigan 


Ryan Anderson Rutgers 

Blake Gillikin Penn State 

Drue Chrisman Ohio State 


Saquon Barkley Penn State 

Parris Campbell Ohio State 

JD Spielman Nebraska 


DeAndre Thompkins Penn State 

J-Shun Harris Indiana 

DJ Moore Maryland