Skip to main content

Big Ten 2018 Season Awards and All-Conference Team

Dwayne Haskins, Ohio State Buckeyes Football

Dwayne Haskins, Ohio State Buckeyes Football

Ohio State just missed a trip to the College Football Playoff for the second year in a row, but coach Urban Meyer’s team is once again the reigning champion of the Big Ten. The Buckeyes also racked up plenty of postseason awards, as quarterback Dwayne Haskins earned a trip to New York for the Heisman Trophy presentation, and teammates Parris Campbell (WR), Dre’Mont Jones (DL) and Chase Young (DE) joined the star quarterback on Athlon’s 2018 All-Big Ten team. Michigan took a step forward this fall, finishing 10-2 and second in the East Division. Coach Jim Harbaugh’s team places a handful of players on the all-conference team, including Shea Patterson (QB), Devin Bush (LB), Chase Winovich (DL) and David Long (CB).

Big Ten 2018 Awards

Off. Player of the Year: Dwayne Haskins, Ohio State

Def. Player of the Year: Devin Bush, Michigan

Coach of the Year: Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern

Best Freshman (Offense): Rondale Moore, Purdue

Best Freshman (Defense): Micah Parsons, Penn State

Off. Coordinator of the Year: Ryan Day, Ohio State

Def. Coordinator of the Year: Don Brown, Michigan

Newcomer of the Year: Shea Patterson, Michigan

Breakout Player: Yetur Gross-Matos, Penn State

With the regular season completed and bowl season starting on Dec. 15, it’s time to recap and look back at the 2018 campaign. Athlon Sports offers its awards and honors the best players in the league with the first, second and third all-conference teams for the Big Ten:

Big Ten 2018 Postseason All-Conference Team


First-Team Offense

Second-Team Offense

Third-Team Offense


Dwayne Haskins Ohio State

Trace McSorley Penn State

Shea Patterson Michigan


Jonathan Taylor Wisconsin

Miles Sanders Penn State

J.K. Dobbins Ohio State


Karan Higdon Michigan

Devine Ozigbo Nebraska

Anthony McFarland Maryland


Rondale Moore Purdue

JD Spielman Nebraska

Reggie Corbin (RB) Illinois 


Parris Campbell Ohio State

Stanley Morgan Nebraska 

Donovan Peoples-Jones Michigan


Tyler Johnson Minnesota

K.J. Hill Ohio State

Flynn Nagel Northwestern


T.J. Hockenson Iowa

Noah Fant Iowa

Jake Ferguson Wisconsin


Tyler Biadasz Wisconsin

Michael Jordan Ohio State

Jared Weyler Minnesota


Beau Benzschawel Wisconsin

Alaric Jackson Iowa

Rashawn Slater Northwestern


Michael Deiter Wisconsin

Isaiah Prince Ohio State

Nick Allegretti Illinois


Ross Reynolds Iowa

David Edwards Wisconsin

Wes Martin Indiana


Jon Runyan Michigan

Ben Bredeson Michigan

Connor McGovern Penn State






First-Team Defense

Second-Team Defense

Third-Team Defense


Kenny Willekes Michigan State

Chase Young Ohio State

Anthony Nelson Iowa


Dre'Mont Jones Ohio State

Rashan Gary Michigan

Joe Gaziano Northwestern


Chase Winovich Michigan

A.J. Epenesa Iowa

Raequan Williams Michigan State


Yetur Gross-Matos Penn State

Carter Coughlin Minnesota 

Bobby Roundtree Illinois


Devin Bush Michigan

Blake Cashman Minnesota

Markus Bailey Purdue


Paddy Fisher Northwestern

Tre Watson Maryland

Ryan Connelly Wisconsin


T.J. Edwards Wisconsin

Joe Bachie Michigan State

Antonio Blackmon (CB) Purdue


Lavert Hill Michigan

Justin Layne Michigan State

Montre Hartage Northwestern


David Long Michigan

Amani Oruwariye Penn State

Dicaprio Bootle Nebraska


Amani Hooker Iowa

Darnell Savage Maryland

Jordan Fuller Ohio State


Josh Metellus Michigan

Geno Stone Iowa

Khari Willis Michigan State






First-Team Specialists

Second-Team Specialists

Third-Team Specialists


Chase McLaughlin Illinois

Matt Coghlin Michigan State

Emmit Carpenter Minnesota


Drue Chrisman Ohio State

Will Hart Michigan

Joe Schopper Purdue


Ihmir Smith-Marsette Iowa

KJ Hamler Penn State

Ty Johnson Maryland


Donovan Peoples-Jones Michigan

Kyle Groeneweg Iowa

J-Shun Harris Indiana