Big Ten Football 2021 All-Conference Team

Athlon honors the best in the Big Ten for 2021

The 2021 All-Big Ten team is led by 13 selections from Ohio State, while Wisconsin (11), Indiana (11), Penn State (10) and Indiana (10) also hit double-digit picks. Michigan has seven selections on the Big Ten All-Conference Team for '21, while Nebraska checks in with six. 


Athlon Sports has released its top 25 for 2021. Now, it’s time to take a look at the best of the best and honor the top players in the league with a release of first, second, third and fourth all-conference teams for 2021.


An important note on the all-conference teams: These are based on how players will perform in 2021. Career statistics and awards matter in the evaluation, but choosing players for the 2021 all-conference team is largely based on predicting and projecting the best for the upcoming year. Also, team strength does not play a role in selections. These are the best individual players at each position in the league for '21.


Big Ten Football 2021 All-Conference Team

First-Team Offense  


QB       Michael Penix, Indiana

RB       Tyler Goodson, Iowa

RB       Mohamed Ibrahim, Minnesota

AP/WR  Jahan Dotson, Penn State

WR      Chris Olave, Ohio State

WR      Garrett Wilson, Ohio State

TE       Jake Ferguson, Wisconsin

C          Tyler Linderbaum, Iowa

OL       Thayer Munford, Ohio State

OL       Peter Skoronski, Northwestern

OL       Nicholas Petit-Frere, Ohio State

OL       Rasheed Walker, Penn State


First-Team Defense 


DL       Zach Harrison, Ohio State

DL       Haskell Garrett, Ohio State

DL       Aidan Hutchinson, Michigan

DL       George Karlaftis, Purdue

LB        Micah McFadden, Indiana

LB        Olakunle Fatukasi, Rutgers

LB        Jack Sanborn, Wisconsin

CB       Tiawan Mullen, Indiana

CB       Cam Taylor-Britt, Nebraska

S          Jaquan Brisker, Penn State

S          Brandon Joseph, Northwestern


First-Team Specialists         


K         Charles Campbell, Indiana

P          Tory Taylor, Iowa

KR       Aron Cruickshank, Rutgers

PR       Charlie Jones, Iowa


Second-Team Offense   


QB       C.J. Stroud, Ohio State

RB       Jalen Berger, Wisconsin

RB       Master Teague, Ohio State

AP/RB  Cam Porter, Northwestern

WR      Ty Fryfogle, Indiana

WR      David Bell, Purdue

TE       Peyton Hendershot, Indiana

C          John Michael Schmitz, Minnesota

OL       Cody Ince, Iowa

OL       Blaise Andres, Minnesota

OL       Logan Bruss, Wisconsin

OL       Mike Miranda, Penn State


Second-Team Defense


DL/LB  Owen Carney, Illinois

DL       Zach VanValkenburg, Iowa

DL       Jacub Panasiuk, Michigan State

DL       Tyreke Smith, Ohio State

LB        Chris Bergin, Northwestern

LB        Jake Hansen, Illinois

LB        JoJo Domann, Nebraska

CB       Matt Hankins, Iowa

CB       Sevyn Banks, Ohio State

S          Jack Koerner, Iowa

S          Nick Cross, Maryland


Second-Team Specialists     


K         Connor Culp, Nebraska

P          Adam Korsak, Rutgers

KR       TJ Sheffield, Purdue

PR       Jahan Dotson, Penn State


Third-Team Offense


QB       Tanner Morgan, Minnesota

RB       Noah Cain, Penn State

RB       Hassan Haskins, Michigan

AP/WR Bo Melton, Rutgers

WR      Dontay Demus, Maryland

WR      Ronnie Bell, Michigan

WR      Jalen Nailor, Michigan State

TE       Sam LaPorta, Iowa

C          Doug Kramer, Illinois

OL       Alex Palczewski, Illinois

OL       Andrew Stueber, Michigan

OL       Harry Miller, Ohio State

OL       Conner Olson, Minnesota


Third-Team Defense   


DL       Ben Stille, Nebraska

DL       P.J. Mustipher, Penn State

DL       Boye Mafe, Minnesota

DL       Mike Tverdov, Rutgers

LB        Leo Chenal, Wisconsin

LB        Jack Campbell, Iowa

LB        Brandon Smith, Penn State

CB       Jaylin Williams, Indiana

CB       Tariq Castro-Fields, Penn State

CB       Riley Moss, Iowa

S          Devon Matthews, Indiana

S          Dax Hill, Michigan


Third-Team Specialists       


K         Matt Coghlin, Michigan State

         Blake Hayes, Illinois

KR       Devin Chandler, Wisconsin

PR       D.J. Matthews, Indiana


Fourth-Team Offense      


QB       Graham Mertz, Wisconsin

RB       Chase Brown, Illinois

RB       Isaih Pacheco, Rutgers

AP/RB  Zander Horvath, Purdue

WR      Rakim Jarrett, Maryland

WR      Chris Autman-Bell, Minnesota

WR      Parker Washington, Penn State

TE       Jeremy Ruckert, Ohio State

C          Sam Gerak, Northwestern

OL       Jaelyn Duncan, Maryland

OL       Caleb Jones, Indiana

OL       Sam Schlueter, Minnesota

OL       Tyler Beach, Wisconsin


Fourth-Team Defense         


DL       Mosiah Nasili-Kite, Maryland

DL       Keeanu Benton, Wisconsin

DL       Julius Turner, Rutgers

DL       Adetomiwa Adebawore, Northwestern

DL       Drew Beesley, Michigan State

LB        Josh Ross, Michigan

LB        Nick Herbig, Wisconsin

LB        Teradja Mitchell, Ohio State

CB       Tre Avery, Rutgers

CB       Caesar Williams, Wisconsin

CB       Cory Trice, Purdue

CB       Tarheeb Still, Maryland

S          Deontai Williams, Nebraska

S          Christian Izien, Rutgers


Fourth-Team Specialists  


K         James McCourt, Illinois

P          Brad Robbins, Michigan

KR       Jayden Reed, Michigan State

PR       Cam Taylor-Britt, Nebraska


Total Selections on Athlon's 2021 All-Big Ten Team

Team Number of Selections
Illinois 7
Indiana 10
Iowa 11
Maryland 6
Michigan 7
Michigan State 5
Minnesota 8
Nebraska 6
Northwestern 6
Ohio State 13
Penn State 10
Purdue 5
Rutgers 9
Wisconsin 11

Podcast: Top 25 Breakdown and Predictions

Include in Acu Data Feed: 
Exclude from Acu-data Feed

More Stories: