Skip to main content

Bowl-Eligible College Football Teams (After Week 12)

Bowl-Eligible College Football Teams

Bowl-Eligible College Football Teams

Just one full week left in college football's regular season, meaning it's last-chance time for those teams still looking for that sixth win to become bowl eligible. There's still Championship Week and a smattering of other games to be played but the reality is almost all of the available postseason spots have been claimed.

There are 39 bowl games scheduled between Dec. 15 and New Year's Day with the College Football Playoff National Championship to put a bow on the season on Jan. 7. While college football fans are no doubt looking forward to the latest edition of the Las Vegas Bowl or the Famous Idaho Potato Bowl or certainly the New Year's Six offerings, there also are some "new" bowl games on this year's schedule.

By "new," what has happened is some bowl games have changed their names. For example, the Cactus Bowl is now the Cheez-It Bowl, the Heart of Dallas Bowl has been re-named the First Responder Bowl and say farewell to the Foster Farms Bowl and be sure to check out the Redbox Bowl. There's also one bowl game that's turning back the clock a bit, and I think it's a change long-time college football fans will approve of. The Gator Bowl or rather the TaxSlayer Gator Bowl is back, after a four-year absence.

Regardless of what the bowl is named or who sponsors it, teams across FBS are fighting for one of the 78 spots available. Some of these spots are more coveted than others, but once teams get to six wins (with a few exceptions) they know that they will be playing at least one more game once the regular season is over.

Seven more teams became bowl eligible in Week 12, bringing the total number to 71. That leaves just seven spots unclaimed and there are 22 teams just one victory away. That means there's a strong chance that a team wins six games and won't go to a bowl game. In fact, there are three "winner-take-all" matchups next week involving Power 5 teams: Baylor vs. Texas Tech, Purdue at Indiana, and Tennessee at Vanderbilt. Each of these teams' season basically comes down to the final game.

As for those teams that have already secured bowl eligibility, the latest to join the postseason party are (in alphabetical order): BYU, Hawaii, Louisiana, Miami, Oklahoma State, South Carolina, and Toledo.

Bowl-Eligible Teams

(Week 12 additions in bold)

Alabama (SEC)
Appalachian State (Sun Belt)
Arizona State (Pac-12)
Arkansas State (Sun Belt)
Army (Independent)
Auburn (SEC)
Boise State (Mountain West)
Boston College (ACC)
Buffalo (MAC)

BYU (Independent) 
California (Pac-12)
Cincinnati (AAC)
Clemson (ACC)
Duke (ACC)
Eastern Michigan (MAC)
FIU (Conference USA)
Fresno State (Mountain West)
Florida (SEC)
Georgia (SEC)
Georgia Southern (Sun Belt)
Georgia Tech (ACC)

Hawaii (Mountain West)*
Houston (AAC)
Iowa (Big Ten)
Iowa State (Big 12)
Kentucky (SEC)

Louisiana (Sun Belt)
Louisiana Tech (Conference USA)
Marshall (Conference USA)
Memphis (AAC)

Miami (ACC)

Michigan (Big Ten)
Michigan State (Big Ten)
Middle Tennessee (Conference USA)
Mississippi State (SEC)
Missouri (SEC)
NC State (ACC)
Nevada (Mountain West)
North Texas (Conference USA)
Northern Illinois (MAC)
Northwestern (Big Ten)
Notre Dame (Independent)
Ohio (MAC)
Ohio State (Big Ten)
Oklahoma (Big 12)

Oklahoma State (Big 12)

Oregon (Pac-12)
Penn State (Big Ten)
Pittsburgh (ACC)
San Diego State (Mountain West)

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

South Carolina (SEC)

South Florida (AAC)
Stanford (Pac-12)
Syracuse (ACC)
Temple (AAC)
Texas (Big 12)
Texas A&M (SEC)

Toledo (MAC)
Troy (Sun Belt)
UAB (Conference USA)
ULM (Sun Belt)
Utah (Pac-12)
Utah State (Mountain West)
Virginia (ACC)
Washington (Pac-12)
Washington State (Pac-12)
West Virginia (Big 12)
Western Michigan (MAC)
Wisconsin (Big Ten)

One Win From Bowl Eligibility

Arizona (Pac-12)
Baylor (Big 12)
Coastal Carolina (Sun Belt)
Colorado (Pac-12)
Florida Atlantic (Conference USA)

Florida State (ACC) 

Indiana (Big Ten)

Kansas State (Big 12) 
Maryland (Big Ten)

Miami (Ohio) 
Minnesota (Big Ten)
Purdue (Big Ten)

Southern Miss (Conference USA)

TCU (Big 12) 
Tennessee (SEC)
Texas Tech (Big 12)
Tulane (AAC)

USC (Pac-12)

Vanderbilt (SEC) 

Wake Forest (ACC)

Wyoming (Mountain West) 

*Hawaii needed seven wins to become bowl eligible due to a 13-game schedule this season.