Skip to main content

Bowl-Eligible College Football Teams (After Week 13)

Bowl-Eligible College Football Teams (After Week 13)

Bowl-Eligible College Football Teams (After Week 13)

There's just one more week in the college football regular season so it makes sense that spots for the upcoming bowl season are dwindling. Nine more teams claimed theirs in Week 13 but there are still a few out there for the taking.

There are 39 bowl games scheduled between Dec. 20 and Jan. 6 with the College Football Playoff National Championship set for Jan. 13. That means 78 teams across the FBS will get a chance to play beyond the regular season.

One of those teams is Charlotte, who will be making its first-ever bowl appearance in just its fifth season as an FBS program. All told, the 49ers have been playing Division I football a total of seven seasons.

Charlotte and fellow Conference USA member FIU were among the nine teams that punched their postseason tickets in Week 13. The others were Arizona State, Buffalo, California, Eastern Michigan, Kentucky, Tennessee, and Washington State.

That brings the total of bowl-eligible teams to 72, meaning there are just six spots remaining. There are currently 13 teams that are one win away from bowl eligibility and Army still has a chance as well (Black Knights must win both of their remaining games).

There are no "win-and-you're-in" matchups in Week 14 for bowl eligibility but because it's Rivalry Week there are still some intriguing games to keep an eye on. Including in these is the Civil War, as Oregon State needs a win over Oregon to go bowling for the first time since 2013, and Nebraska can secure its first postseason invite under Scott Frost with a victory over Iowa.

Bowl-Eligible Teams

Air Force (Mountain West)
Alabama (SEC)
Appalachian State (Sun Belt)
Arizona State (Pac-12)
Arkansas State (Sun Belt)
Auburn (SEC)
Baylor (Big 12)
Boise State (Mountain West)

Buffalo (MAC)
BYU (Independent)

California (Pac-12)
Central Michigan (MAC)