Skip to main content

Bowl-Eligible College Football Teams (After Week 13)

  • Author:
  • Updated:
Ed Orgeron, LSU Tigers Football

LSU became bowl eligible and sent outgoing head coach Ed Orgeron out as a winner with a 27-24 home victory over Texas A&M in the teams' regular-season finale

The college football regular season is over, the conference champions have been crowned, the College Football Playoff field is set, and that means that bowl season is upon us.

Related: College Football Bowl Schedule for 2021-22

There are 42 bowl games scheduled between Dec. 17 and Jan. 4, including the two College Football Playoff Semifinals (Cotton Bowl Classic, Orange Bowl) with the national championship game set for Jan. 10.

Originally, there were only 41 bowl games and by the end of the regular season, there were 83 bowl-eligible teams. As a result, the MAC, Mountain West and Conference USA requested a waiver to the deadline for bowl certification so that another game could be added. The NCAA granted this request, which ensured that every team that finished with six or more wins would get to play in a bowl. The 84th team in the postseason is Hawaii. The Rainbow Warriors went 6-7 in the regular season, which typically means they would not be eligible since they finished with a losing record, but with no other 6-6 teams left, Hawaii was awarded the final postseason spot.

Bowl-Eligible Teams (84)

  • Air Force (Mountain West)
  • Alabama (SEC)
  • Appalachian State (Sun Belt)
  • Arizona State (Pac-12)
  • Arkansas (SEC)
  • Army West Point (Independent)
  • Auburn (SEC)
  • Ball State (MAC)
  • Baylor (Big 12)
  • Boise State (Mountain West)
  • Boston College (ACC)
  • BYU (Independent)
  • Central Michigan (MAC)
  • Cincinnati (AAC)
  • Clemson (ACC)
  • Coastal Carolina (Sun Belt)
  • East Carolina (AAC)
  • Eastern Michigan (MAC)
  • Florida (SEC)
  • Fresno State (Mountain West)
  • Georgia (SEC)
  • Georgia State (Sun Belt)
  • Hawaii* (Mountain West)
  • Houston (AAC)
  • Iowa (Big Ten)
  • Iowa State (Big 12)
  • Kansas State (Big 12)
  • Kent State (MAC)
  • Kentucky (SEC)
  • Liberty (Independent)
  • Louisiana (Sun Belt)
  • Louisville (ACC)
  • LSU (SEC)
  • Marshall (Conference USA)
  • Maryland (Big Ten)
  • Memphis (AAC)
  • Miami (ACC)
  • Miami (Ohio) (MAC)
  • Michigan (Big Ten)
  • Michigan State (Big Ten)
  • Middle Tennessee (Conference USA)
  • Minnesota (Big Ten)
  • Mississippi State (SEC)
  • Missouri (SEC)
  • NC State (ACC)
  • Nevada (Mountain West)
  • North Carolina (ACC)
  • North Texas (Conference USA)
  • Northern Illinois (MAC)
  • Notre Dame (Independent)
  • Ohio State (Big Ten)
  • Oklahoma (Big 12)
  • Oklahoma State (Big 12)
  • Old Dominion (Conference USA)
  • Ole Miss (SEC)
  • Oregon (Pac-12)
  • Oregon State (Pac-12)
  • Penn State (Big Ten)
  • Pittsburgh (ACC)
  • Purdue (Big Ten)
  • San Diego State (Mountain West)
  • SMU (AAC)
  • South Carolina (SEC)
  • Tennessee (SEC)
  • Texas A&M (SEC)
  • Texas Tech (Big 12)
  • Toledo (MAC)
  • Tulsa (AAC)
  • UAB (Conference USA)
  • UCF (AAC)
  • UCLA (Pac-12)
  • Utah (Pac-12)
  • Utah State (Mountain West)
  • UTEP (Conference USA)
  • UTSA (Conference USA)
  • Virginia (ACC)
  • Virginia Tech (ACC)
  • Wake Forest (ACC)
  • Washington State (Pac-12)
  • West Virginia (Big 12)
  • Western Michigan (MAC)
  • WKU (Conference USA)
  • Wisconsin (Big Ten)
  • Wyoming (Mountain West)

*Hawaii went 6-7 during the regular season but was awarded a bowl berth when the NCAA approved a replacement bowl so that all eligible teams could participate.