Skip to main content

Bowl-Eligible College Football Teams (After Week 13)

Kyle Vantrease and the Georgia Southern Eagles are bowl eligible after defeating Appalachian State in double overtime on Saturday.

The college football regular season has come to a close (for the most part) but the postseason picture is far from settled. And that's just not referring to the four teams that will make the College Football Playoff. Currently, there are not enough bowl-eligible teams with at least six qualifying wins to fill all the available spots. So that means there's still some drama left outside of the conference championship games and playoff.

Related: College Football Bowl Projections for 2022-23

There are 41 bowl games scheduled between Dec. 16 and Jan. 2, including the two College Football Playoff Semifinals (Cotton Bowl Classic, Orange Bowl) with the national championship game set for Jan. 9. That means 82 teams across the FBS will get a chance to play beyond the regular season.

In Week 13, six more teams punched their postseason ticket: Georgia Southern, Louisiana, Miami (Ohio), Missouri, Southern Miss, and UAB. That brings the total to 79, leaving three spots available. One of those could belong to Buffalo, who will host Akron on Friday in a makeup of their Nov. 19 game that was postponed due to snow. If the 5-6 Bulls defeat the 2-9 Zips, they will become the sixth bowl-eligible team from the MAC.

That would still leave two spots, however, which means that a 5-7 team will likely get in, although 6-6 Appalachian State (not eligible because two wins came against FCS teams) and 5-6 Army (would need to beat Navy on Dec. 10 to get to six wins but two of theirs came against FCS teams as well), could receive consideration. New Mexico State (5-6), which had its Oct. 22 game against San Jose State canceled due to a death within the Spartans' program, is trying to get a 12th game scheduled for next weekend. But it would likely be against an FCS program (Valparaiso has been reported as a potential opponent), meaning the Aggies would be in the same situation as App State and Army – two wins against FCS teams.

If it comes down to the teams that are 5-7 then the Academic Progress Rate (APR), a metric the NCAA uses to monitor academic progress within football programs, will be used to determine the final spots. Right now, the top two 5-7 teams based on APR are Rice and UNLV, followed by a tie between Auburn and Michigan State.

Bowl-Eligible Teams (79)

  • Air Force (Mountain West)
  • Alabama (SEC)
  • Arkansas (SEC)
  • Baylor (Big 12)
  • Boise State (Mountain West)
  • Bowling Green (MAC)
  • BYU (Independent)
  • Cincinnati (AAC)
  • Clemson (ACC)
  • Coastal Carolina (Sun Belt)
  • Duke (ACC)
  • East Carolina (AAC)
  • Eastern Michigan (Sun Belt)
  • Florida (SEC)
  • Florida State (ACC)
  • Fresno State (Mountain West)
  • Georgia (SEC)
  • Georgia Southern (Sun Belt)
  • Houston (AAC)
  • Illinois (Big Ten)
  • Iowa (Big Ten)
  • Kansas (Big 12)
  • Kansas State (Big 12)
  • Kentucky (SEC)
  • Liberty (Independent)
  • Louisville (ACC)
  • Louisiana (Sun Belt)
  • LSU (SEC)
  • Marshall (Sun Belt)
  • Maryland (Big Ten)
  • Memphis (AAC)
  • Miami (Ohio) (MAC)
  • Michigan (Big Ten)
  • Middle Tennessee (Conference USA)
  • Minnesota (Big Ten)
  • Mississippi State (SEC)
  • Missouri (SEC)
  • NC State (ACC)
  • North Carolina (ACC)
  • North Texas (Conference USA)
  • Notre Dame (Independent)
  • Ohio (MAC)
  • Ohio State (Big Ten)
  • Oklahoma (Big 12)
  • Oklahoma State (Big 12)
  • Ole Miss (SEC)
  • Oregon (Pac-12)
  • Oregon State (Pac-12)
  • Penn State (Big Ten)
  • Pitt (ACC)
  • Purdue (Big Ten)
  • San Diego State (Mountain West)
  • San Jose State (Mountain West)
  • SMU (AAC)
  • South Alabama (Sun Belt)
  • South Carolina (SEC)
  • Southern Miss (Sun Belt)
  • Syracuse (ACC)
  • TCU (Big 12)
  • Tennessee (SEC)
  • Texas (Big 12)
  • Texas Tech (Big 12)
  • Toledo (MAC)
  • Troy (Sun Belt)
  • Tulane (AAC)
  • UAB (Conference USA)
  • UCF (AAC)
  • UCLA (Pac-12)
  • UConn (Independent)
  • USC (Pac-12)
  • Utah (Pac-12)
  • Utah State (Mountain West)
  • UTSA (Conference USA)
  • Wake Forest (ACC)
  • Washington (Pac-12)
  • Washington State (Pac-12)
  • Wisconsin (Big Ten)
  • WKU (Conference USA)
  • Wyoming (Mountain West)

One Win From Bowl Eligibility (1)

  • Buffalo (MAC) - vs. Arkon on Dec. 2