Skip to main content

A Breakdown of College Football's Awards

A Breakdown of College Football's Awards

A Breakdown of College Football's Awards

More than 20 awards will be given to college football’s best players and coaches between now and bowl season. With that many, it is tough to keep track of them so here is a breakdown of each award (in alphabetical order), along with finalists or winners, and a brief history. Many of this year's recipients (such as the William V. Campbell Trophy, which was awarded to Clemson's Christian Wilkins, pictured above) have already been announced with a bunch of them getting handed out on Thursday night during "The Home Depot College Football Awards," which was broadcast on ESPN.

Biletnikoff Award

Honors: Outstanding Receiver

Founded: 1994 by Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation

First Recipient: Bobby Engram, Penn State (1994)

This Year’s Recipient: Jerry Jeudy, Alabama

Bronko Nagurski Trophy

Honors: Best Defensive Player

Founded: 1993 by Charlotte Touchdown Club and Football Writers Association of America

First Recipient: Rob Waldrop, Arizona (1993)

This Year’s Recipient: Josh Allen, Kentucky

Broyles Award

Honors: Best Assistant Coach, selected by 1,500 coaches representing all FBS programs

Founded: 1996 by Downtown Rotary Club in Little Rock, Ark. 

First Recipient: Mickey Andrews, Florida State (1996)

This Year’s Recipient: Mike Locksley, offensive coordinator, Alabama

Burlsworth Trophy

Honors: Nation's most outstanding player who began college career as a walk-on

Founded: 2010 by Brandon Burlsworth Foundation

First Recipient: Sean Bedford, Georgia Tech (2010)

This Year's Recipient: Hunter Renfrow, Clemson

Butkus Award

Honors: Best Linebacker

Founded: 1985 by Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando

First Recipient: Brian Bosworth, Oklahoma (1985)

This Year’s Recipient: Devin White, LSU

Chuck Bednarik Award

Honors: CollegeDefensive Player of the Year

Founded: 1995 by Maxwell Football Club

First Recipient: Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern (1995)

This Year's Recipient: Josh Allen, Kentucky

Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

Honors: Nation's Best Quarterback

Founded: 1977 by Davey O’Brien Foundation

First Recipient: Earl Campbell, Texas (1977) – Became quarterback-only award in 1981

This Year's Recipient: Kyler Murray, Oklahoma

Doak Walker Award

Honors: Nation's Premier Running Back

Founded: 1990 by Southern Methodist University

First Recipient: Greg Lewis, Washington (1990)

This Year’s Finalists: Travis Etienne, Clemson; Darrell Henderson, Memphis; Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin

The Dodd Trophy

Honors: FBS football coach whose program represents three pillars of success: Scholarship, Leadership and Integrity

Founded: 1976, presented annually by Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl

First Recipient: Vince Dooley, Georgia (1976)

This Year's Finalists: Dino Babers, Syracuse; Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern; Brian Kelly, Notre Dame; Lincoln Riley, Oklahoma; Nick Saban, Alabama; Kirby Smart, Georgia; Dabo Swinney, Clemson

Disney's Wide World of Sports Spirit Award

Honors: Most Inspirational Individual or Team

Founded: 1996

First Recipient: Daniel Huffman, a high school student who gave up his college football career to donate his kidney to his grandmother (1996)

This Year’s Recipient: Tyler Trent and Purdue University

Eddie Robinson Award

Honors: Best coach

Founded: 1957 by Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)

First Recipient: Woody Hayes, Ohio State (1957)

This Year's Recipient: Bill Clark, UAB

Heisman Trophy

Honors: Most Outstanding Player

Founded: 1935 by Downtown Athletic Club

First Recipient: Jay Berwanger, Chicago (1935)

This Year’s Recipient: Kyler Murray, Oklahoma

Home Depot Coach of the Year

Honors: Coach of the Year, selected by ESPN and ABC college football analysts

Founded: 1994

First Recipient: Bobby Bowden, Florida State (1994)

This Year’s Recipient: Brian Kelly, Notre Dame

Jim Thorpe Award

Honors: Nation'sBest Defensive Back

Founded: 1986 by Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame

First Recipient: Thomas Everett, Baylor (1986)

This Year’s Recipient: DeAndre Baker, Georgia

John Mackey Award

Honors: Best Tight End

Founded: 2000 by Nassau County Sports Commission

First Recipient: Tim Stratton, Purdue (2000)

This Year’s Recipient: T.J. Hockenson, Iowa

Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award

Honors: Outstanding Senior or Fourth-Year Quarterback

Founded: 1987 by the Golden Arm Foundation

First Recipient: Don McPherson, Syracuse (1987)

This Year’s Recipient: Gardner Minshew, Washington State

Lombardi Award

Honors: Best Lineman or Linebacker

Founded: 1970 by Rotary International in Houston

First Recipient: Jim Stillwagon, Ohio State (1970)

Last Year’s Recipient: Jonathan Allen, Alabama

Lott IMPACT Trophy

Honors: Defensive IMPACT (Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community, and Tenacity) Player of the Year

Founded: 2004 by Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation

First Recipient: David Pollack, Georgia (2004)

This Year’s Recipient: Josh Allen, Kentucky

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award

Honors: Nation's Outstanding Placekicker

Founded: 1992 by Palm Beach County Sports Commission

First Recipient: Joe Allison, Memphis (1992)

This Year’s Recipient: Andre Szmyt, Syracuse

Maxwell Award

Honors: CollegePlayer of the Year

Founded: 1937 by Maxwell Football Club

First Recipient: Clint Frank, Yale (1937)

This Year’s Recipient: Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama

Outland Trophy

Honors: Nation's Most Outstanding Interior Lineman

Founded: 1946 by Football Writers Association of America

First Recipient: George Connor, Notre Dame (1946)

This Year’s Recipient: Quinnen Williams, Alabama

Paul Hornung Award

Honors: Most Versatile Player

Founded: 2010 by Louisville Sports Commission

First Recipient: Owen Marecic, Stanford (2010)

This Year’s Recipient: Rondale Moore, Purdue

Ray Guy Award

Honors: College Punter of the Year

Founded: 2000 by Greater August Sports Council

First Recipient: Kevin Stemke, Wisconsin (2000)

This Year’s Recipient: Braden Mann, Texas A&M

Rimington Trophy

Honors: Nation's Most Outstanding Center

Founded: 2000 by Boomer Esiason Foundation

First Recipient: Dominic Raiola, Nebraska (2000)

This Year’s Finalists: Garrett Bradbury, NC State; Sam Mustipher, Notre Dame; Ross Pierschbacher, Alabama

Ted Hendricks Award

Honors: Nation's Best Defensive End

Founded: 2002 by Ted Hendricks Foundation

First Recipient: Terrell Suggs, Arizona State (2002)

This Year’s Recipient: Clelin Ferrell, Clemson

Walter Camp Player of the Year Award

Honors: Player of the Year

Founded: 1967 by Walter Camp Football Foundation

First Recipient: O.J. Simpson, USC (1967)

This Year’s Recipient: Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama

William V. Campbell Trophy

Honors: Best Student-Athlete (also called the "Academic Heisman")

Founded: 1990 by the National Football Foundation

First Recipient: Chris Howard, Air Force (1990)

This Year’s Recipient: Christian Wilkins, Clemson

Wuerffel Trophy

Honors: Player “who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement"

Founded: 2005 by All Sports Association of Fort Walton Beach

First Recipient: Rudy Niswanger, LSU (2005)

This Year’s Recipient: Drue Tranquill, Notre Dame

— Written by Aaron Tallent, who is part of the Athlon Contributor Network. Tallent is a writer whose articles have appeared in The Sweet Science, FOX Sports’ Outkick the Coverage, Liberty Island and The Washington Post. Follow him on Twitter at @AaronTallent.

(Top photo courtesy of @NFFNetwork)