College Football: Final 2013 Heisman Trophy Voting

The Heisman Trophy race is over but who is No. 2? And who got snubbed?

Each week of the college football season, Athlon Sports will poll some of the nation's best college football people from every region of the country. Each voter offers up a top five and each first-place vote is worth five points. A second-place vote is worth four points, so on and so forth. With 13 voters, a perfect ballot — i.e., 13 first-place votes — would give a player 65 total points.

One of the more exciting Heisman Trophy seasons has come to an end with a boring finish. Saturday night's announcement for Florida State's Jameis Winston is merely a formality. But with six invitees and other quality names not in New York, the race for No. 2 is one of the more exciting fans have seen in recent memory. Here is what Athlon's panel thinks:

Final 2013 Heisman Voting Results:

  LW Player Pos. Team Pts 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th
1. (1) Jameis Winston QB Florida St 60 12 - - - -
2. (ur) Tre Mason RB Auburn 26 - 4 2 2 -
3. (5) Johnny Manziel QB Texas A&M 23 - 4 2 - 1
4. (4) AJ McCarron QB Alabama 20 - 2 2 2 2
5. (2) Jordan Lynch QB N. Illinois 16 1 1 - 3 1
6. (7) Bryce Petty QB Baylor 14 - - 3 2 1
7. (6) Andre Williams RB Boston College 11 - 1 - 2 3
8. (9) Marcus Mariota QB Oregon 7 - 1 1 - -
9. (7) Ka'Deem Carey RB Arizona 5 - - 1 - 2
10t. (14) Derek Carr QB Fresno St 3 - - - 1 1
10t. (14) Teddy Bridgewater QB Louisville 3 - - 1 - -
10t. (9) Aaron Donald DL Pitt 3 - - 1 - -
13. (14) Jadeveon Clowney DE S. Carolina 2 - - - 1 -
14. (3) Braxton Miller QB Ohio St 1 - - - - 1

Heisman Headlines:

Crown Winston. There is little intrigue surrounding Saturday night’s Heisman presentation. The 2013 Heisman winner will be Jameis Winston. He has no holes in his football resume — huge numbers, a perfect record, a chance at a championship, elite NFL talent and a persona people gravitate to. He led the nation in passing efficiency (190.06) and yards per attempt (10.9) while setting an NCAA freshman touchdown record with 38 scoring strikes (the old record belonged to Sam Bradford, 36). His offense crushed 13 opponents by an average of 42.3 points per game en route to a second-straight ACC crown and berth in the BCS title game. It could be one of the biggest Heisman blowouts in history.

Who is No. 2? Tre Mason finished No. 2 in our ballots after a huge final two months. Only two backs scored more rushing touchdowns than Mason’s 22, and no one came up bigger in marquee games. He rushed for 178 yards and a touchdown and carried Auburn to victory at Texas A&M. He carried 27 times for 115 yards and touchdown against Georgia and 29 times for 164 yards and a touchdown against Alabama. Mason saved his best for last, and it’s why he might finish second to Winston. He set SEC title games for carries (46), yards (304) and touchdowns (four) in the SEC championship game to clinch a BCS titele game bid.

Carr vs. Lynch. Jordan Lynch benefited greatly from increased TV exposure and name recognition entering the season. Carr may be a more worthy candidate, though Lynch ranked higher in our voting. Carr led the nation in total offense at 415.3 yards per game — nearly 65 more yards per game than Lynch (350.5). Carr accounted for 50 TD (48 pass, 2 rush) versus Lynch’s 45 (23 pass, 22 rush) in one less game than Lynch. The biggest argument, however, for Carr was his performance in the MWC title game. He threw for 404 yards and three scores as he led his team to a conference championship while Lynch struggled in a stunning loss to Bowling Green in the MAC title game.

Bryce Petty Snub. The biggest snub from being invited to New York is Baylor’s Bryce Petty. He has huge numbers — 3,844 yards, 30 touchdowns, two interceptions, 192 yards rushing, 11 touchdowns — and did something that has never happened for Baylor. He won the school's first Big 12 championship, clinching the school’s first BCS bowl bid and won 11 games for the first time in program history. Other players had more than one bad game and still got invited to NYC (Williams, Manziel) while Petty’s 359 yards and two touchdowns against Oklahoma State was enough for him to be omitted.

The Voting Panel:

Name Organization Website No. 1
Tom Dienhart Big Ten Network Jameis Winston
Bryan Fischer Pac-12 Network Jameis Winston
David Fox Athlon Sports Jameis Winston
Braden Gall Athlon Sports Jameis Winston
Steven Godfrey SB Nation Jameis Winston
Chris Huston Heisman Pundit Jordan Lynch
Steven Lassan Athlon Sports Jameis Winston
Chris Level Red Raider Sports Jameis Winston
Mitch Light Athlon Sports Jameis Winston
Billy Liucci TexAgs Jameis Winston
Dan Rubenstein SB Nation/Solid Verbal Jameis Winston
Josh Ward Mr. SEC/WNML Jameis Winston
Jim Young ACC Sports Journal Jameis Winston


More Stories: