Skip to main content

College Football Post-Week 11 Award Watch


The Heisman Trophy isn’t the only award worth watching on a weekly basis. The Lombardi, Outland, Davey O’Brien and Biletnikoff races are all worth watching and debating as the season goes along.

Throughout the season, we’ll keep an eye on all the prominent position trophies through college football in addition to the Heisman.

If you’re looking for our thoughts on that other trophy, check our weekly Heisman poll.

Week 12 Previews and Predictions

ACC | Big 12 | Big East | Big Ten | Pac-12 | SEC

Davey O’Brien (Top quarterback)
Our leader: Collin Klein, Kansas State
Klein remains the presumptive Heisman frontrunner, but perhaps the gap is closing for the Heisman and for top quarterback honors. As Johnny Manziel worked his magic against the Alabama offense, Klein amassed a season-low 195 yards of total offense against TCU. Klein still rushed for two touchdowns but threw an interception for the first time since Sept. 15.
Others: Louisiana Tech’s Colby Cameron, Northern Illinois’ Jordan Lynch, Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel, Oregon’s Marcus Mariota, Ohio State’s Braxton Miller

Doak Walker (Top running back)
Our leader: Kenjon Barner, Oregon
An apparent wrist/hand injury limited Barner’s production against Cal last week, as he ran for 65 yards on 20 carries. Before that, Barner had rushed for at least 100 yards in five consecutive games and 10 total touchdowns in the last three.
Others: North Carolina’s Giovani Bernard, Arizona’s Ka’Deem Carey, Kansas State’s John Hubert, Nevada’s Stefphon Jefferson

Biletnikoff Award (Top wide receiver)
Our leader: Marqise Lee, USC
Lee leads the nation in catches (98) and receiving yards (1,448) and is third in receiving touchdowns (13). He also averages 29.4 yards per kick return and spent time on defense last week against Arizona State.
Others: West Virginia’s Tavon Austin, West Virginia’s Stedman Bailey, Clemson’s DeAndre Hopkins, Louisiana Tech’s Quinton Patton, Baylor’s Terrance Williams

Mackey Award (Top tight end)
Our leader: Austin Seferian-Jenkins, Washington
Seferian-Jenkins is starting to distance himself in a crowded field of Pac-12 tight ends. In addition to catching seven passes for 99 yards last week against Utah, Seferian-Jenkins also lined up at defensive end.
Others: Arizona State’s Chris Coyle, North Carolina’s Eric Ebron, Notre Dame’s Tyler Eifert, Stanford’s Zach Ertz

Outland Trophy (Top interior lineman)
Our leader: Barrett Jones, Alabama
Jones remains the strongest candidate for line awards in part by reputation. Texas A&M’s Luke Joeckel and Jake Matthews are strong candidates and remain a major reason A&M is a BCS candidate.
Others: North Carolina’s Jonathan Cooper, Texas A&M’s Luke Joeckel, Utah’s Star Lotulelei, Notre Dame’s Stephon Tuitt, Alabama’s Chance Warmack

Rimington Trophy (Top center)
Our leader: Jones, Alabama
Others: Kansas State’s B.J. Finney, Clemson’s Dalton Freeman, USC’s Khaled Holmes

Bednarik Award/Nagurski Award (Defensive Player of the Year)
Our leader: Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
Against Boston College, Te’o picked up his sixth interception of the season and third in the last four games. Te’o didn’t have any interceptions in his career before this season..
Others: Kansas State’s Arthur Brown, South Carolina’s Jadeveon Clowney, Georgia’s Jarvis Jones

Lombardi Award (Top lineman or linebacker)
Our leader: Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
Clowney had two tackles for a loss and a forced fumble in the win over Arkansas. Clowney has five tackles for a loss, two sacks and two forced fumbles in his last three games.
Others: Kansas State’s Arthur Brown, Rutgers’ Khaseem Greene, Georgia’s Jarvis Jones, Texas A&M’s Damontre Moore, Notre Dame’s Manti Te’o, Notre Dame’s Stephon Tuitt

Butkus Award (Top linebacker)
Our leader: Te’o, Notre Dame
Others: Kansas State’s Arthur Brown, Rutgers’ Khaseem Greene, Penn State's Michael Mauti, LSU’s Kevin Minter, Alabama’s C.J. Mosely

Thorpe Award (Top defensive back)
Our leader: Jordan Poyer, Oregon State
Poyer returned from a one-game absence to record five tackles and a tackle for a loss in the loss to Stanford. He has five interceptions this season, but they came in a three-game span from Sept. 20-Oct. 13.
Others: Mississippi State’s Johnthan Banks, Florida’s Matt Elam, Oklahoma’s Tony Jefferson, Alabama’s Dee Milliner

Groza Award (Top kicker)

Our leader: Steven Schott, Ball State
Schott leads the nation in field goals made (23) and is tied for most attempts (28). Schott has made two of three attempts from at least 50 yards out.
Others:Michigan State’s Dan Conroy, Florida State’s Dustin Hopkins, Oklahoma State’s Quinn Sharp

Ray Guy Award (Top punter)
Our leader: Louisiana Tech’s Ryan Allen
The defending Ray Guy winner leads the nation in yards per punt (48.2), and Louisiana Tech leads the nation in net punting (43.1 yards per kick).
Others: Florida’s Kyle Christy, Texas A&M’s Ryan Epperson

Freshman of the Year
Our leader: Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
Manziel’s season is shaping up to be one of the best seasons for a quarterback in SEC history, not just the best freshman quarterbacks in league history. At 379.4 yards per game, Manziel is second in the nation in total offense behind Baylor’s Nick Florence. No SEC player is within 50 yards per game of Manziel.
Others: Louisiana Tech’s Kenneth Dixon, TCU’s Devonte Fields, UCLA’s Brett Hundley, Oregon’s Marcus Mariota

Coach of the Year
Our leader: Bill Snyder, Kansas State
Snyder has taken Kansas State from overlooked in the preseason to No. 1 in the BCS standings. And for the final two games of the season, Snyder has a rare task at Kansas State: Coaching a BCS frontrunner.
Others: Ohio State’s Urban Meyer, Notre Dame’s Brian Kelly

Broyles Award (top assistant)
Our leader: Kliff Kingsbury, Texas A&M
The Aggies’ 33-year-old offensive coordinator was a quarterback in the Canadian Football League just five years ago. After coaching A&M’s high-flying offense, Kingsbury has quickly become an intriguing head coaching candidate.
Others: Oregon State’s Mark Banker, Notre Dame’s Bob Diaco, Texas Tech’s Art Kaufman, Alabama’s Kirby Smart