Skip to main content
Publish date:

College Football's 2016 Postseason All-America Team

Lamar Jackson

Lamar Jackson

With the completion of college football’s 2016 regular season, it’s time to take a look back and honor the best of the best and top performers for the All-America team. Whether it was on offense, defense or special teams, there was no shortage of clutch performances by players at every position. The SEC led the way with 25 overall selections, with the Pac-12 and ACC tying for second at 19 picks. The Big Ten was just behind at 18, while the Big 12 recorded 10 selections. Conference USA (six selections) was the top Group of 5 conference on the Athlon Sports' All-America team.

Image placeholder title

The bowl season kicks off on Dec. 17 and continues until the national championship on Jan. 9 in Tampa, Fla. While the teams are preparing for their final contests of the season, it’s time to unveil Athlon Sports’ first, second, third and fourth-team All-Americans.

Recommended Articles

As usual, it’s never easy assembling three All-America teams. There are plenty of standout performers that won’t make the cut, but we tried to blend talent, production and consistency to form the top three teams.

2016 Conference Awards

ACC | Big 12 | Big Ten | Pac-12 | SEC

Athlon Sports 2016 All-America Team


First-Team Offense

Second-Team Offense

Third-Team Offense

Fourth-Team Offense


Lamar Jackson Louisville 

Deshaun Watson Clemson 

Baker Mayfield Oklahoma 

Jake Browning Washington 


Dalvin Cook Florida State 

Christian McCaffrey Stanford 

Saquon Barkley Penn State 

Aaron Jones UTEP 


D'Onta Foreman Texas 

Donnel Pumphrey San Diego State 

Jeremy McNichols Boise State 

Brian Hill Wyoming 


Curtis Samuel Ohio State 

Joe Mixon Oklahoma 

James Washington (WR) Oklahoma State 

Richie James (AP) MTSU 


Dede Westbrook Oklahoma 

Zay Jones East Carolina 

Austin Carr Northwestern 

Taywan Taylor WKU 


Corey Davis Western Michigan 

John Ross Washington 

Mike Williams Clemson 

Amba Etta-Tawo Syracuse 


Evan Engram Ole Miss 

Jake Butt Michigan 

Jordan Leggett Clemson 

Michael Roberts Toledo 


Pat Elflein Ohio State 

Tyler Orlosky West Virginia 

Frank Ragnow Arkansas 

Garret Bolles (OL) Utah 


Cam Robinson Alabama 

Dan Feeney Indiana 

Billy Price Ohio State 

Forrest Lamp WKU 


Connor Williams Texas 

Zach Banner USC 

Quenton Nelson Notre Dame 

Jon Toth Kentucky 


Cody O'Connell Washington State 

Ethan Pocic LSU 

Nico Siragusa San Diego State 

Will Hernandez UTEP 


Ryan Ramczyk Wisconsin 

Dorian Johnson Pitt 

Braden Smith Auburn 

Roderick Johnson Florida State 







First-Team Defense

Second-Team Defense

Third-Team Defense

Fourth-Team Defense


Derek Barnett Tennessee 

Myles Garrett Texas A&M 

Arden Key LSU 

Carl Lawson Auburn 


Jonathan Allen Alabama 

Carlos Watkins Clemson 

Hunter Dimick Utah 

Jordan Willis Kansas State 


DeMarcus Walker Florida State 

Ejuan Price Pitt 

Solomon Thomas Stanford 

Takkarist McKinley UCLA 


Ed Oliver Houston 

Harold Landry Boston College 

Christian Wilkins Clemson 

Haason Reddick Temple 


Reuben Foster Alabama 

T.J. Watt Wisconsin 

Ben Boulware Clemson 

Josey Jewell Iowa 


Zach Cunningham Vanderbilt 

Tim Williams Alabama 

Kendell Beckwith

Jarrad Davis Florida 


Jabrill Peppers Michigan 

Raekwon McMillan Ohio State 

Micah Kiser Virginia 

Marquel Lee Wake Forest 


Jourdan Lewis Michigan 

Cordrea Tankersley Clemson 

Adoree' Jackson

Tarvarus McFadden Florida State 


Desmond King Iowa 

Tre'Davious White LSU 

Sidney Jones Washington 

Chidobe Awuzie Colorado 


Malik Hooker Ohio State 

Budda Baker Washington 

Jalen Tabor (CB) Florida 

Nathan Gerry Nebraska 


Jamal Adams LSU 

Minkah Fitzpatrick Alabama 

Rasul Douglas (CB) West Virginia 

Tedric Thompson Colorado 







First-Team Specialists

Second-Team Specialists

Third-Team Specialists

Fourth-Team Specialists


Zane Gonzalez Arizona State 

Daniel Carlson Auburn 

Eddy Pineiro Florida 

Younghoe Koo Georgia Southern 


Mitch Wishnowsky Utah 

JK Scott Alabama 

Michael Dickson Texas 

Johnny Townsend Florida 


Quadree Henderson Pitt 

Adoree' Jackson USC 

Carlos Henderson Louisiana Tech 

Desmond King Iowa 


Adoree' Jackson USC 

Jabrill Peppers Michigan 

Christian Kirk Texas A&M 

Dante Pettis Washington