Skip to main content

Florida State Football: Seminoles All-Decade Team

Florida State Football: Seminoles All-Decade Team

Florida State Football: Seminoles All-Decade Team

Florida State's decade of the 2010s came to an end just hours before 2020 came in with a 20-14 loss to Arizona State in the Tony the Tiger Sun Bowl out in El Paso, Texas, on New Year's Eve.

The decade welcomed in a new era of FSU football as it began on New Year's Day 2010 with the final game of legendary Bobby Bowden's career. It unfortunately ended with back-to-back losing campaigns after more than four decades without one.

For the most part, however, the decade for FSU was more good than bad. During the 2010s, FSU won its first national championship in 14 years, three ACC titles, and played in five major bowls. The Seminoles also finished in the AP top 10 four times and posted 7-3 marks against both Florida and Miami.

Most of the success came under Jimbo Fisher, who left late in the 2017 season to become the new head coach at Texas A&M. His successor, Willie Taggart, lasted just 21 games. Whether new head coach Mike Norvell is around at the end of the 2020s remains to be seen.

In addition to team accomplishments, FSU has plenty of outstanding individuals, including a Heisman Trophy winner (Jameis Winston in 2013). Here's a look at the best of the best when it comes to Seminoles to play in the last decade:

QB: Jameis Winston (2012-14)

RB: Dalvin Cook (2014-16)

RB: Cam Akers (2017-19)

AP: Kermit Whitfield (2013-16)

WR: Rashad Greene (2011-14)

WR: Kelvin Benjamin (2011-13)

WR: Tamorrion Terry (2017-present)

TE: Nick O'Leary (2011-14)

C: Bryan Stork (2009-13)

OL: Cameron Erving (2010-14)

OL: Roderick Johnson (2014-16)

OL: Tre' Jackson (2011-14)

OL: Rodney Hudson (2007-10)

DL: Bjoern Werner (2010-12)

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

DL: Timmy Jernigan (2011-13)

DL: DeMarcus Walker (2013-16)

DL: Brian Burns (2016-18)

LB: Christian Jones (2010-13)

LB: Telvin Smith (2010-13)

LB: Nigel Bradham (2008-11)

CB: Lamarcus Joyner (2010-13)

CB: Xavier Rhodes (2009-12)

S: Jalen Ramsey (2013-15)

S: Derwin James (2015-17)

K: Roberto Aguayo (2012-15)

P: Shawn Powell (2008-11)

RS: Greg Reid (2009-11)

Toughest Position: Defensive Line

Picking between Bjoern Werner and Brian Burns was extremely difficult, so we ended up with three defensive ends and just one defensive tackle. Timmy Jernigan, an All-American in 2013, was a shoo-in, but others such as Marvin Wilson, Eddie Goldman, Everett Dawkins, and Derrick Nnadi had great careers, but none were as deserving as any of the ends to make the list or a couple of ends who didn't in Brandon Jenkins and Cornellius "Tank" Carradine.

Deepest Position: Defensive Back

Florida State's claim as "DBU" is well noted. Making the list are three first-round NFL draft picks. Lamarcus Joyner and Jalen Ramsey were versatile enough to be on the list at either cornerback or safety. Other considerations included P.J. Williams, Ronald Darby, Mike Harris, and Greg Reid. Reid made the list as the return specialist. Even Tarvarus McFadden led the nation in interceptions in 2016.

Weakest Position: Offensive Line

Four of the five members of the offensive line to make the list played on either the 2013 team or the '14 team. Three of the four to make the list played on both. After Roderick Johnson left early for the NFL after the 2016 season, there wasn't a single player up front worthy of consideration.

— Written by Mike Ferguson, who is part of the Athlon Contributor Network and the editor of The Daily Nole. Like The Daily Nole on Facebook and follow Mike on Twitter @MikeWFerguson.