Skip to main content

5 Greatest Arkansas vs. Texas A&M College Football Games of All Time

Southwest Classic: Arkansas Razorbacks vs. Texas A&M Aggies

Arkansas leads the all-time series against longtime conference rival Texas A&M 41-33-3

Saturday marks the first time in five years that Arkansas and Texas A&M will play each other with both being unbeaten and ranked. These schools have played 77 times, first when they were both in the Southwest Conference and now in the SEC West.

The series' history and popularity have resulted in a new name for it, the Southwest Classic, and a prime location. AT&T Stadium, home to the Dallas Cowboys, who are owned by famous Arkansas alumnus Jerry Jones, has hosted nine of the past 12 meetings.

With as much shared history as these two teams have, there's no question they have played some exciting games. Here are the five best.

5. Texas A&M 13, Arkansas 7

Oct. 29, 1938 — College Station, Texas

Playing for nothing but pride, the Aggies and the Razorbacks (or as Texas papers referred to them at the time, "Porkers") were tied 7-7 late in the game. Then fullback "Big" Big John Kimbrough led Texas A&M on a 59-yard drive with two minutes left to play, repeatedly smashing through Arkansas' line and scoring the winning touchdown with seconds to play. The Aggies won the national championship the next season, and Kimbrough earned All-American honors in 1939 and '40.

4. Arkansas 42, Texas A&M 38

Oct. 1, 2011  Arlington, Texas

The Aggies swarmed the Razorbacks early in the Southwest Classic, taking a 35-17 halftime lead at Cowboys Stadium. Then Arkansas' passing attack entered the second half with a vengeance and its defense shut Texas A&M down. Quarterback Tyler Wilson threw for a school-record 510 yards, and receiver Jarius Wright caught 13 passes for a school-record 281 yards, as the Razorbacks pulled tied the game at 35-35 with 11 minutes to go. The Aggies managed a field goal to retake the lead at 38-35 with a little over four minutes remaining, but Arkansas responded with an 80-yard drive that culminated with a three-yard touchdown run by Broderick Green. A&M then turned the ball over on downs and the Razorbacks ran out the clock.

3. Arkansas 27, Texas A&M 24

Nov. 15, 1980  Fayetteville, Ark.

Arkansas deployed a new 4-3 defense, which confused Texas A&M, and took a 24-0 halftime lead. The Aggies made adjustments and scored three touchdowns and recorded a safety to tie the game two minutes into the fourth quarter. Arkansas kicker Ish Ordonez missed a 40-yard field goal with 5:19 to play but got another shot with a 27-yarder with eight seconds remaining. This time, he nailed it for the win.

2. Arkansas 23, Texas A&M 22

Nov. 24, 1989  College Station, Texas

Texas A&M had not lost a conference home game since 1984, but Arkansas jumped out to a 14-0 first-quarter lead in a span of 52 seconds with a 25-yard touchdown run by quarterback Quinn Grovey and a 23-yard interception return for a touchdown by linebacker Mick Thomas. The Aggies then outscored the Razorbacks 20-3 and took the lead with eight minutes left in the fourth quarter. Arkansas responded with a 70-yard drive that was saved by a pass interference call on safety Larry Horton on fourth-and-three on the Aggies 13-yard line. Razorback running back Barry Foster then scored on a two-yard touchdown run with 2:52 left. Later in the game, Arkansas punter Allen Meacham took an intentional safety and the Razorbacks recovered a fumble on the final play for their first win at Kyle Field since 1981.

1. Arkansas 26, Texas A&M 20

Nov. 12, 1977  College Station, Texas

Both teams were still in the hunt for the Southwest Conference title and tied 20-20 late in the game. Arkansas head coach Lou Holtz felt that a field goal was not a viable option since Texas A&M kicker Tony Franklin was a constant threat to hit 60-plus yard field goals. Instead, he opted for Hog quarterback Ron Calcagni to roll out and hit Robert Farrell running down the left sideline for a 58-yard scoring pass (at 7:00 in the below highlights). The Aggies drove down to the Razorback 14-yard line, but Patrick Martin intercepted David Walker's pass to secure the Arkansas win. Ultimately, Texas finished the regular season undefeated and won the conference championship.

— Written by Aaron Tallent, who is part of the Athlon Contributor Network. Tallent is a writer whose articles have appeared in The Sweet Science, FOX Sports' Outkick the Coverage, Liberty Island and The Washington Post. Follow him on Twitter at @AaronTallent.