Skip to main content

Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Finalists Announced

Marcus Mariota

Marcus Mariota

The field of candidates for one of college football’s most prestigious awards has been narrowed down to five with the announcement of this season’s finalists for The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. UCLA’s Brett Hundley, USC’s Cody Kessler, Oregon’s Marcus Mariota, Baylor’s Bryce Petty and Mississippi State’s Dak Prescott are the 2014 finalists for the award that’s named after Hall of Fame legend Johnny Unitas, who many refer to as the greatest quarterback to ever play the game.

Here is a closer look at this season’s finalists:

Brett Hundley, UCLA

Through 10 games this season, Hundley has completed 72.1 percent of his passes for 2,547 yards with 17 touchdowns and four interceptions for a QB rating of 158.1. The redshirt junior also has 564 yards rushing and seven touchdowns for the 8-2 Bruins.

Cody Kessler, USC

In his second season as the Trojans’ starting quarterback, Kessler has emerged as one of the nation’s most productive passers. After 10 weeks, the fourth-year junior is fourth in the nation in QB rating (168.2) with a sparkling 25:2 touchdown-to-interception ratio. He is completing 69.7 percent of his passes and has posted four 300-yard games thus far.

Marcus Mariota, Oregon

One of the nation’s most athletic and dynamic quarterbacks, Mariota is putting together a spectacular junior season for the 9-1 Ducks, who have almost wrapped up another Pac-12 North Division title. The third-year starter is well on his way to establishing career bests across the board, as he leads the nation in QB rating (184.5), has accounted for a total of 37 touchdowns (29 passing, 8 rushing) and 3,304 yards of total offense through 10 games.

Bryce Petty, Baylor

A fifth-year senior in his second season as the starter, Petty is once again posting impressive numbers for Art Briles’ Bears. A back injury cost Petty a game earlier in the season, but he’s still among the nation’s leaders in passer rating (152.2), as he’s thrown 21 touchdown passes and just three interceptions through nine games.

Dak Prescott, Mississippi State

The redshirt junior has enjoyed a breakthrough season, leading his Bulldogs to a 9-0 record and the No. 1 ranking in the polls. Prescott has been making plays with his arm and legs all season, accounting for 29 total touchdowns (18 passing, 11 rushing). Besides being the nation’s seventh-rated passer (158.5), Prescott also is averaging 5.4 yards per carry.

The five finalists were narrowed down from an original field of 27 candidates. This season’s winner will be announced on Dec. 8. Candidates for the Golden Arm Award, which has been presented annually since 1987, must be college seniors or fourth-year juniors on schedule to graduate with their class. Besides their on-field accomplishments, candidates are judged on their character, citizenship, scholastic achievement and leadership qualities.

Past Golden Arm Award winners include current NFL quarterbacks Peyton Manning, Andrew Luck, Matt Ryan, Eli Manning, Carson Palmer and Colt McCoy. Last season’s recipient was Alabama’s A.J. McCarron.

The Golden Arm Award is presented by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. and Transamerica. Athlon Sports is proud to be a Golden Arm Award sponsor.