NFF announces National Scholar-Athlete Awards

Irving, Texas ( - The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame included three FCS players on its list of recipients for the 56th National Scholar-Athlete Class announced Thursday.

Recipients are awarded $18,000 postgraduate scholarships.

The list includes 16 members who are finalists for the 2013 William V. Campbell Trophy, which recognizes an indivudual as the best football scholar- athlete in the nation.

The FCS players on the list are Cornell quarterback Jeff Mathews, Coastal Carolina wide receiver Niccolo Mastromatteo and Appalachian State wide receiver Tony Washington.

Recipients join a list of other honorees that includes former NFL linebacker Derrick Brooks, Hall of Fame quarterback Steve Young and Heisman Trophy winners Doug Flutie and Tim Tebow.

The NFF's National Scholar-Athlete program launched in 1959, and is the first initiative in history to award scholar-athletes postgraduate scholarships for their combined athletic, academic and leadership skills.

Original Document: 
Display Section: 

More Stories: