NFL Draft First-Round Shutout Great News for Ohio State

Buckeyes still waiting to hear names called

Perhaps no one was more happy not to hear his team called on Thursday than Ohio State coach Urban Meyer.


Presumably, Meyer would have been pleased to hear an NFL team take his wide receiver Devin Smith in the first round, but whether Ohio State produced one first-round pick or none Meyer, that's a good thing.


For the first time since 2003 — the last time Ohio State won a national championship — the reigning national champion did not produce a first-round draft pick the following April. Since the start of the BCS era in 1998, Oklahoma in 2000 is the only other team that did not produce a first-round pick immediately after winning a national title.


Meyer won’t have the draft day brag sheet to take on the recruiting trail, or at least not one as impressive as past national champions. Not that it really matters.


Most of the draft picks from the 2014 national championship team will be playing for Ohio State in 2015.


This isn’t major news for anyone who has been paying close attention to Ohio State. The Buckeyes have all three quarterbacks in tow, including their top pro prospect at the position Cardale Jones. Defensive end Joey Bosa appears to be on pace for a first-round pick. Ezekiel Elliott may or may not continue Thursday’s run on first-round running backs, but he’ll be in the draft eventually. 


Linebackers Joshua Perry and Darron Lee are back. So is end-turned-tackle Adolphus Washington.

Even if Smith, defensive tackle Michael Bennett and cornerback Doran Grant are selected this weekend, the Buckeyes will have to wait until 2016 for their big draft celebration. 

That’s not totally uncommon for national championship teams. Since 1998, four reigning national champions produced four or fewer draft picks the following year — 2010 Auburn, 2008 Florida, 2003 USC and 2000 Oklahoma. The USC team went on to repeat in 2004. Florida started 13-0 in 2009 before losing to eventual national champion Alabama in the SEC title game. Only 2011 Auburn finished unranked.


Here’s a look at the national champions since 1998 and how they fared in the NFL Draft after their title season.


Year School First Round Total Picks Following season
2014 0 N/A N/A
2013 1 7 13-1, No. 5, lost in CFP semifinal
2012 3 9 11-2, No. 7, lost Sugar Bowl
2011 3 8 13-1, No. 1, won BCS championship
2010 2 4 8-5, NR, won Chick-fil-A Bowl
2009 2 7 10-3, No. 10, won Capital One Bowl
2008 1 3 13-1, No. 3, won Sugar Bowl
2007 1 7 8-5, NR, won Chick-fil-A Bowl
2006 2 9 9-4, No. 13, lost Capital One Bowl
2005 2 6 10-3, No. 13, won Alamo Bowl
2004 2 5 12-1, No. 1, lost Rose Bowl*
2003 (BCS) 1 7 9-3, No. 16, lost Capital One Bowl
2003 (AP) 1 4 13-0, No. 1, won BCS championship
2002 0 5 11-2, No. 4, won Fiesta Bowl
2001 5 11 12-1, No. 2, lost Fiesta Bowl*
2000 0 2 11-2, No. 6, won Cotton Bowl
1999 3 7 11-2, No. 5, lost Orange Bowl*
1998 1 5 9-3, No. 9, lost Fiesta Bowl

*Lost in national championship game

More Stories: