Skip to main content

Pac-12 2018 Season Awards and All-Conference Team

Gardner Minshew, Washington State Cougars Football

Gardner Minshew, Washington State Cougars Football

Washington State entered the 2018 season with uncertainty at quarterback, but coach Mike Leach’s team ended the year with the Pac-12's Offensive Player of the Year on the Athlon Sports 2018 All-Pac-12 team. Gardner Minshew – a transfer from East Carolina – threw for 4,477 yards and 36 touchdowns to lead the Cougars to a 10-2 mark and a second-place finish in the Pac-12 North. North Division champion Washington boasted the league’s No. 1 defense, as coordinator Jimmy Lake’s group held opponents to 15.5 points a game. Cornerback Byron Murphy, safety Taylor Rapp and linebacker Ben Burr-Kirven lead the way for this group and all three earn first-team All-Pac-12 honors by Athlon Sports for 2018. Utah claimed the South Division title for the first time since joining the Pac-12, and as usual, coach Kyle Whittingham's team boasted a strong defense in Salt Lake City. Three players - John Penisini, Bradlee Anae and Chase Hansen - earned first-team All-Pac-12 honors by Athlon Sports.

Pac-12 2018 Awards

Off. Player of the Year: Gardner Minshew, Wash. State

Def. Player of the Year: Ben Burr-Kirven, Washington

Coach of the Year: Mike Leach, Washington State

Best Freshman (Offense): Jermar Jefferson, Oregon State

Best Freshman (Defense): Merlin Robertson, Ariz. State

Def. Coordinator of the Year: Jimmy Lake, Washington

Newcomer of the Year: Gardner Minshew, Wash. State

Breakout Player: Joshua Kelley, UCLA

With the regular season completed and bowl season starting on Dec. 15, it’s time to recap and look back at the 2018 campaign. Athlon Sports offers its awards and honors the best players in the league with the first, second and third all-conference teams for the Pac-12:

Pac-12 2018 Postseason All-Conference Team


First-Team Offense

Second-Team Offense

Third-Team Offense


Gardner Minshew Washington State

K.J. Costello Stanford

Justin Herbert Oregon


Eno Benjamin Arizona State

Myles Gaskin Washington

Jermar Jefferson Oregon State


Joshua Kelley UCLA

Zack Moss Utah

CJ Verdell Oregon


J.J. Taylor Arizona

Britain Covey Utah

James Williams Washington State


Laviska Shenault Colorado

Dillon Mitchell Oregon

Isaiah Hodgins Oregon State


N'Keal Harry Arizona State

Shawn Poindexter Arizona

Easop Winston Washington State


JJ Arcega-Whiteside Stanford

Michael Pittman USC

Aaron Fuller Washington


Caleb Wilson UCLA

Kaden Smith Stanford

Colby Parkinson Stanford


Nick Harris Washington

Jake Hanson Oregon

Cohl Cabral Arizona State


Andre Dillard Washington State

Gus Lavaka Oregon State

Patrick Mekari California


Kaleb McGary Washington

Jackson Barton Utah

Chuma Edoga USC


Calvin Throckmorton Oregon

Jordan Agasiva Utah

Abe Lucas Washington State


Shane Lemieux Oregon

Chris Brown USC

Walker Little Stanford






First-Team Defense

Second-Team Defense

Third-Team Defense


John Penisini Utah

Mustafa Johnson Colorado

Jordon Scott Oregon


Greg Gaines Washington

Christian Rector USC

Jalen Jelks Oregon


Bradlee Anae Utah

Logan Tago Washington State

Leki Fotu Utah


Nate Landman Colorado

Justin Hollins Oregon

Cody Barton Utah


Ben Burr-Kirven Washington

Troy Dye Oregon

Peyton Pelluer Washington State


Chase Hansen Utah

Colin Schooler Arizona

Cameron Smith USC


Jordan Kunaszyk California

Evan Weaver California

Merlin Robertson Arizona State


Byron Murphy Washington

Jaylon Johnson Utah 

Julian Blackmon Utah


Paulson Adebo Stanford

Camryn Bynum California

Iman Marshall USC


Taylor Rapp Washington

Thomas Graham (CB) Oregon

Darnay Holmes (CB) UCLA


Ashtyn Davis California

Ugo Amadi Oregon

Jalen Thompson Washington State






First-Team Specialists

Second-Team Specialists

Third-Team Specialists


Matt Gay Utah

Jet Toner Stanford

Brandon Ruiz Arizona State


Mitch Wishnowsky Utah

Jake Bailey Stanford

Stefan Flintoft UCLA


Ashtyn Davis California

Tony Brooks-James Oregon

Travell Harris Washington State


Britain Covey Utah

Shun Brown Arizona

Tyler Vaughns USC