Skip to main content

Predicting Which Teams Make the College Football Playoff on Selection Sunday

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma Sooners Football

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma Sooners Football

College football’s regular season is complete and the four teams in the CFB Playoff will be announced on Sunday at 12:30 p.m. ET on ESPN. Following the championship games on Saturday night, the selection committee is set to decide the final top 25, New Year’s Six bowl participants and playoff teams.

Clemson Tigers QB Kelly Bryant

For the most part, the committee’s decision was made easy by the results on Saturday. Clemson – the committee’s No. 1 team in last week’s top 25 – cruised to an easy win over Miami in the ACC Championship. The Tigers should be No. 1 when the top four teams are announced on Sunday. The No. 2 and No. 3 spots are a toss up in terms of order, but the teams should be Oklahoma and Georgia. The Sooners handled TCU in the Big 12 Championship, and Georgia beat Auburn in the second meeting between these two teams in 2017. The No. 2 and No. 3 designation doesn’t matter much, as these teams are likely to square off in the Rose Bowl for a chance to play in the national championship.

While the top three spots are clear, the No. 4 spot is where the committee’s work begins on Saturday night and Sunday morning. Will the committee choose Ohio State or Alabama? The Buckeyes strengthened their case by defeating Wisconsin in the Big Ten Championship, while the Crimson Tide did not play.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

So which team will make the CFB Playoff as the No. 4 seed? Below is a guess at how the CFB Playoff matchups will look when they are announced Sunday, Dec. 3 at 12:30 p.m. ET on ESPN.

Projecting the CFB Playoff Games for Selection Sunday

Rose Bowl – Jan. 1, 5 p.m. ET on ESPN

No. 2 Oklahoma vs. No. 3 Georgia

Sugar Bowl – Jan. 1 at 8:45 p.m. ET on ESPN

No. 1 Clemson vs. No. 4 Alabama

The winner of the Rose Bowl and Sugar Bowl will meet on Jan. 8 in Atlanta to decide the 2017 college football national champion.