click meAdvertisement

SE Louisiana headlines preseason All-Southland

Frisco, TX ( - Defending Southland Conference champion Southeastern Louisiana football team gained a high of 15 selections on the conference's preseason squad announced Wednesday.

Southeastern, which finished 11-3 overall and 7-0 in Southland play last season, had five more selections than the next closest team, McNeese State.

Representing the Lions on the first team were senior quarterback Bryan Bennett, the 2013 Southland Player of the Year; junior running back Rasheed Harrell; senior offensive lineman Jonathan Braddock; senior defensive end Jacob Newman; senior linebackers Isiah Corbett and Drew Misita; and junior defensive back Harlan Miller. Junior Xavier Roberson was the first-team choice at both all- purpose player and kick returner.

Southeastern junior wide receiver Jeff Smiley, junior offensive lineman Joe Graves, junior defensive lineman A.J. Bowen, senior defensive back Tyler Stoddard and senior linebackers Justin Church and Kaleb Muse were second-team selections.

Twenty of the 58 Southland Conference football players who earned all- conference honors after the 2013 season return for the 2014 preseason team.

First-Team Offense

QB - Bryan Bennett - Southeastern Louisiana, Sr.

RB - Rasheed Harrell, Southeastern Louisiana, Jr.

RB - Gus Johnson, Stephen F. Austin, Sr.

TE/HB - Zach Hetrick, McNeese State, So.

WR - Reggie Begelton, Lamar, Jr.

WR - Dezmin Lewis, Central Arkansas, Sr.

WR - Tyler Boyd, Stephen F. Austin, Sr.

OL - Jonathan Braddock, Southeastern Louisiana, Sr.

OL - Antoine Everett, McNeese State, Sr.

OL - Donald Jackson, Sam Houston State, Jr.

OL - Cole Caruthers, Central Arkansas, Sr.

OL - Quentin Marsh, McNeese State, Jr.

AP - Xavier Roberson, Southeastern Louisiana, Jr.

PK - Luc Swimberghe, Sam Houston State, So.

First-Team Defense

DL - Jacob Newman, Southeastern Louisiana, Sr.

DL - Jonathan Woodard, Central Arkansas, Jr.

DL - Everett Ellefsen, McNeese State, Sr.

DL - Deon Simon, Northwestern State, Sr.

LB - Isiah Corbet, Southeastern Louisiana, Sr.

LB - Drew Misita, Southeastern Louisiana, Sr.

LB - Bo Brown, McNeese State, Jr.

DB - Harlan Miller, Southeastern Louisiana, Jr.

DB - Imoan Claiborne, Northwestern State, Sr.

DB - Mike Wade, Sam Houston State, Sr.

DB - Aaron Sam, McNeese State, Sr.

DB - Fred Thomas, Northwestern State, Sr.

P - Jean Breaux, McNeese State, Jr.

KR - Xavier Roberson, Southeastern Louisiana, Jr.

PR - Kevin Johnson, Lamar, Sr.

Second-Team Offense

QB - Caleb Berry, Lamar, Sr.

RB - Kelvin Bennett, McNeese State, Jr.

RB - Keshawn Hill, Sam Houston State, Sr.

TE/HB - Shane Young, Sam Houston State, Sr.

WR - Jeff Smiley, Southeastern Louisiana, Jr.

WR - Damien Watts, Central Arkansas, Sr.

WR - Ernest Celestie, McNeese State, Sr.

OL - Joe Graves, Southeastern Louisiana, Jr.

OL - C.J. Simon, Central Arkansas, Sr.

OL - Byron Williams, Stephen F. Austin, Jr.

OL - Austin Douglas, Northwestern State, Sr.

OL - Justin Brock, Lamar, Jr.

AP - Daniel Taylor, Northwestern State, Jr.

PK - Eddie Camara, Central Arkansas, Sr.

Second-Team Defense

DL - A.J. Bowen, Southeastern Louisiana, Jr.

DL - T.J. Randall, Central Arkansas, Sr.

DL - JeMarcus Marshall, Northwestern State, So.

DL - Gary Lorance, Sam Houston State, Sr.

LB - Justin Church, Southeastern Louisiana, Sr.

LB - Kaleb Muse, Southeastern Louisiana, Sr.

LB - Davin Bovie, Nicholls State, Sr.

DB - Tyler Stoddard, Southeastern Louisiana, Sr.

DB - Gabe Hammer, McNeese State, Jr.

DB - Dillon Winfrey, Central Arkansas, Jr.

DB - Adam Jones, Northwestern State, So.

DB - Byron Cobb, Nicholls State, Sr.

P - Nick Bruno, Stephen F. Austin, Jr.

KR - Jatavious Wilson, Central Arkansas, So.

PR - Ed Eagan, Northwestern State, Jr.

Original Document: 
Display Section: 

More Stories: