Skip to main content

SEC 2013 Season Awards and All-Conference Team


Auburn RB Tre Mason

The 2013 season was one of the most unpredictable we have seen in the SEC in quite some time. The two teams that met in the league title game — Auburn and Missouri — combined to record a 2–14 record in conference play last season. Florida, which went 11–2 last season, lost its last seven games and finished with the program’s first losing record since 1979. And Texas A&M, a preseason top-five team in many polls, only managed to win four SEC games in what figures to be Johnny Manziel’s last season in College Station.

More Postseason Awards and All-Conference Teams: ACCBig 12|Big TenPac-12

SEC 2013 Awards

Coach of the Year: Gus Malzahn, Auburn
Malzahn and the Auburn Tigers authored an unlikely worst-to-first script, taking a program that went 0–8 in the SEC last year to the BCS National Championship game. Auburn made an incredible improvement on offense, increasing its per-game average by more than 200 yards per game — from 305.0 in 2012 to 505.3 in ’13. On the strength of 545 yards rushing against Missouri in the SEC title game, Auburn now leads the nation in rushing with 335.7 yards per game. If that holds up, the Tigers will be the first non-triple option team to win the rushing title since Nevada — led by Colin Kaepernick — did so in 2009.

Image placeholder title

Offensive Player of the Year: Tre Mason, RB, Auburn
Mason surged past Vanderbilt wide receiver Jordan Matthews in this category after rushing for 304 yards and four touchdowns on 46 carries in Auburn’s 59–42 win over Missouri last Saturday. Mason led the league with 1,621 yards and was at his best against the best competition and in the biggest games. He had 132 yards at LSU, 178 in a season-changing win at Texas A&M, 164 against Alabama and 304 against Missouri. Against SEC competition (eight regular-season games and the title game), Mason averaged 143.2 yards — the best in the league by almost 20 yards per game — and rushed for 17 touchdowns.

Image placeholder title

Defensive Player of the Year: C.J. Mosley, LB, Alabama
Mosley, a consensus first-team All-American in 2012, shined in his final season at Alabama. The Theodore, Ala., native leads the Crimson Tide in tackles with 88 (37 more than any other player on the team), tackles for a loss with nine and quarterback hurries with eight. Nick Saban offered this praise for his star linebacker after he executed a successful fake punt in Alabama’s win over LSU: “I trust C.J. to do anything — watch my kids, take care of my house. So a (punt) fake is not much. C.J. is just so conscientious about everything he does that you know he's going to execute and do it exactly like you told him to do it. He did a good job.”

Image placeholder title
Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

Newcomer of the Year: Vernon Hargreaves III, CB, Florida
Hargreaves III emerged as a bright spot in a dismal season in Gainesville. The true freshman from Tampa, a 5-star recruit, recorded 38 tackles and led the Gators with three interceptions and 11 pass break-ups. Hargreaves III will be a sure-fire first-team preseason All-American in 2014.

Image placeholder title

Biggest Disappointment of 2013: Florida
Coming off an 11–2 season that featured wins over Texas A&M, LSU, South Carolina and Florida State, the Gators were expected to challenge for the SEC East title. Didn’t happen. Florida stubbed its toe in a Week 2 loss at Miami and then imploded in the latter half of the season, losing its final seven games to finish 5–7 overall and 3–5 in the SEC. The low point of the season came on Nov. 23 when Georgia Southern, an FCS school that went 4–4 in the Southern Conference, topped the Gators 26–20 in Gainesville. Yes, this team suffered more than its share of injuries, but there is no excuse for Florida to struggle so much. 

Image placeholder title

Biggest Surprise of 2013: Auburn
Missouri would also be a solid choice, but it’s hard to pick against Auburn, which made the well-documented climb from winless in the SEC to league champion — and possibly national champion. Gus Malzahn is worthy of all the praise he is receiving of late; he did a masterful job in 2013.

Image placeholder title

Athlon's 2013 All-SEC Team

First-Team Offense

Second-Team Offense

QB AJ McCarron, Alabama

QB Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

RB Tre Mason, Auburn

RB Mike Davis, South Carolina

RB T.J. Yeldon, Alabama

RB Jeremy Hill, LSU

WR Odell Beckham Jr., LSU

WR Mike Evans, Texas A&M

WR Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt

WR Jarvis Landry, LSU

TE Arthur Lynch, Georgia

TE Hunter Henry, Arkansas

T Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama

T Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt

T Jake Matthews, Texas A&M

T Antonio Richardson, Tennessee

C Reese Dismukes, Auburn

C Travis Swanson, Arkansas

G Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State

G Chad Slade, Auburn

G Anthony Steen, Alabama

G Trai Turner, LSU

First-Team Defense

Second-Team Defense

DE Dee Ford, Auburn

DE Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina

DE Michael Sam, Missouri

DE Chris Smith, Arkansas

DT Anthony Johnson, LSU

DT Ego Ferguson, LSU

DT Kelcy Quarles, South Carolina

DT Donte Rumph, Kentucky

LB A.J. Johnson, Tennessee

LB Lamin Barrow, LSU

LB C.J. Mosley, Alabama

LB Avery Williamson, Kentucky

LB Ramik Wilson, Georgia

LB Andrew Wilson, Missouri

CB E.J. Gaines, Missouri

CB Andre Hal, Vanderbilt

CB Vernon Hargreaves III, Florida

CB Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida

S Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama

S  Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss

S Kenny Ladler, Vanderbilt

S Nickoe Whitley, Mississippi State 

First-Team Specialists

Second-Team Specialists

K Marshall Morgan, Georgia

K Zach Hocker, Arkansas

P Cody Mandell, Alabama

P Drew Kaser, Texas A&M

KR Christion Jones, Alabama

KR Solomon Patton, Florida

PR Chris Davis, Auburn

PR Christion Jones, Alabama