Skip to main content

SEC 2016 Season Awards and All-Conference Team

Joshua Dobbs

Joshua Dobbs

The 2016 season was an interesting year for the SEC. Alabama enters the College Football Playoff as the No. 1 overall team but every team in the SEC outside of the Crimson Tide had at least four losses.

Image placeholder title

While the 2016 campaign was largely a down year for most of the SEC, the league’s 14 teams still produced plenty of talent. Alabama led the way on Athlon Sports’ All-SEC team with 17 overall selections, with LSU and Florida tied for second with nine. Auburn was third with eight picks, while Texas A&M was next with six selections.

With the regular season completed and bowl season starting on Dec. 17, it’s time to recap and look back at the 2016 campaign. Athlon Sports offers its awards and honors the best players in the league with the first, second and third all-conference teams for the SEC:

SEC 2016 Season Awards

Offensive Player of the Year: Joshua Dobbs, QB, Tennessee

Image placeholder title

Dobbs led all players in conference action this year, averaging 316.9 total yards per game in SEC contests. 

Runner Up: Jalen Hurts, QB, Alabama

Defensive Player of the Year: Jonathan Allen, DL, Alabama

Image placeholder title

Allen led the way in the trenches for Alabama's dominant defense this season. In addition to anchoring the top run defense in the nation, Allen accumulated 13 tackles for a loss and 8.5 sacks in 13 contests.

Runner Up: Zach Cunningham, LB, Vanderbilt

Coach of the Year: Nick Saban, Alabama

Image placeholder title

Another year, another dominant Alabama team. While winning at a high level is nothing new for Saban, he's done it in 2016 with a true freshman quarterback (Jalen Hurts) and enters the playoff as the clear favorite to win it all.

Runner Up: Mark Stoops, Kentucky

Freshman of the Year (Offense):Jalen Hurts, QB, Alabama

Image placeholder title

A strong case could be made for Hurts as first-team All-SEC quarterback. The true freshman started 12 games for the Crimson Tide and averaged 264.1 total yards per contest.

Runner Up: Jonah Williams, OL, Alabama

Freshman of the Year (Defense): Leo Lewis, LB, Mississippi State

Image placeholder title

Lewis started all 12 games and was a key cog in Mississippi State's defense. The redshirt freshman ranked second on the team with 72 tackles (4.5 for a loss) and also recorded one pass breakup.

Runner Up: Marlon Davidson, DL, Auburn

Offensive Coordinator of the Year: Lane Kiffin, Alabama

Image placeholder title

Since arriving in Tuscaloosa, Kiffin has successfully blended the up-tempo and spread looks with Alabama's physical ground game. Despite the loss of running back Derrick Henry and a true freshman (Jalen Hurts) under center, the Crimson Tide averaged 39.8 points a game in SEC contests this year - up from 31.2 in 2015.

Runner Up: Eddie Gran, Kentucky

Defensive Coordinator of the Year: Jeremy Pruitt, Alabama

Image placeholder title

Pruitt returned to Tuscaloosa after Kirby Smart left for Georgia and helped Nick Saban mold the nation's best defense. The Crimson Tide allowed only 11.8 points per game and just 3.94 yards per play.

Runner Up: Dave Aranda, LSU

Newcomer of the Year: Trevor Knight, QB, Texas A&M

Image placeholder title

In addition to his on-field production, Knight was a stabilizing force and a leader for an offense that ended 2015 with uncertainty about its quarterback position after two players left College Station. In 10 games, Knight accounted for 2,716 total yards and 26 touchdowns.

Runner Up: Darius James, OL, Auburn

Breakout Player:Kamryn Pettway, RB, Auburn

Image placeholder title

A late-season injury slowed Pettway in November, but the sophomore still finished with 1,123 yards and seven touchdowns.

Runner Up: Nick Fitzgerald, QB, Mississippi State

SEC 2016 Postseason All-Conference Team


First-Team Offense

Second-Team Offense

Third-Team Offense


Joshua Dobbs Tennessee 

Jalen Hurts Alabama 

Chad Kelly Ole Miss 


Rawleigh Williams Arkansas 

Ralph Webb Vanderbilt 

Leonard Fournette LSU 


Kamryn Pettway Auburn 

Derrius Guice LSU 

Boom Williams Kentucky 


Christian Kirk Texas A&M 

Alvin Kamara Tennessee 

Calvin Ridley (WR) Alabama  


Josh Reynolds Texas A&M 

Fred Ross Miss. State 

Antonio Callaway Florida 


ArDarius Stewart Alabama 

J'Mon Moore Missouri 

Josh Malone Tennessee 


Evan Engram Ole Miss 

O.J. Howard Alabama 

Jeremy Sprinkle Arkansas 


Frank Ragnow Arkansas 

Bradley Bozeman  Alabama 

Martez Ivey (OL) Florida 


Cam Robinson Alabama 

Josh Boutte LSU 

Will Clapp LSU 


Ethan Pocic (C) LSU 

Jon Toth (C) Kentucky 

Paul Adams Missouri 


Braden Smith Auburn 

Justin Senior Miss. State 

Alex Kozan Auburn 


Jonah Williams Alabama 

Robert Leff Auburn 

Will Holden Vanderbilt 






First-Team Defense

Second-Team Defense

Third-Team Defense


Derek Barnett Tennessee 

Charles Harris Missouri 

Dalvin Tomlinson Alabama 


Myles Garrett Texas A&M 

Caleb Brantley Florida  

Darius English South Carolina 


Jonathan Allen Alabama 

Carl Lawson Auburn 

Trent Thompson Georgia 


Arden Key LSU 

Montravius Adams Auburn  

Marquis Haynes Ole Miss 


Zach Cunningham Vanderbilt 

Ryan Anderson Alabama 

Shaan Washington Texas A&M 


Tim Williams Alabama 

Kendell Beckwith LSU 

Jordan Jones Kentucky 


Reuben Foster Alabama 

Jarrad Davis Florida 

Roquan Smith Georgia 


Tre'Davious White LSU 

Quincy Wilson Florida 

Carlton Davis Auburn 


Jalen Tabor Florida 

Aarion Penton Missouri 

Marlon Humphrey Alabama 


Minkah Fitzpatrick  Alabama 

Justin Evans Texas A&M 

Eddie Jackson Alabama 


Jamal Adams LSU 

Marcus Maye Florida 

Mike Edwards Kentucky 






First-Team Specialists

Second-Team Specialists

Third-Team Specialists


Daniel Carlson Auburn 

Eddy Pineiro Florida 

Gary Wunderlich Ole Miss 


JK Scott Alabama 

Johnny Townsend Florida 

Toby Baker Arkansas 


Darrius Sims Vanderbilt 

Evan Berry Tennessee 

Carlos Davis Ole Miss 


Christian Kirk Texas A&M 

Eddie Jackson Alabama 

Isaiah McKenzie Georgia