Skip to main content

SEC 2017 Season Awards and All-Conference Team

Kerryon Johnson, Auburn Tigers Football

Kerryon Johnson, Auburn Tigers Football

After the 2016 season was considered a disappointment or a down year for the SEC, the 14-team league returned to the top of college football's conference rankings. The SEC became the first conference to place two teams in the CFB Playoff and sent nine programs to the postseason in 2017. Georgia earned its way into the CFB Playoff after beating Auburn in the SEC Championship Game, while Alabama was the selection committee's pick as the No. 4 seed after finishing the regular season at 11-1. Kirby Smart's Bulldogs were the top storyline from the SEC this fall. After an 8-5 debut in 2016, Georgia showed marked improvement in Smart's second year at the helm. The Bulldogs finished 12-1, claimed their first SEC title since 2005 and will make their first appearance in the Rose Bowl on Jan. 1 against Oklahoma. 

Georgia Bulldogs head coach Kirby Smart

With the regular season completed and bowl season starting on Dec. 16, it’s time to recap and look back at the 2017 campaign. Athlon Sports offers its awards and honors the best players in the league with the first, second and third all-conference teams for the SEC:

SEC 2017 Awards

Offensive Player of the Year: Kerryon Johnson, RB, Auburn

Defensive Player of the Year: Roquan Smith, LB, Georgia

Coach of the Year: Kirby Smart, Georgia

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

Freshman of the Year (Offense): Jake Fromm, QB, Georgia

Freshman of the Year (Defense): Andraez Williams, CB, LSU

Offensive Coordinator of the Year: Jim Chaney, Georgia

Defensive Coordinator of the Year: Kevin Steele, Auburn

Newcomer of the Year: Jarrett Stidham, QB, Auburn

Breakout Player: A.J. Brown, WR, Ole Miss

SEC 2017 All-Conference Team


First-Team Offense

Second-Team Offense

Third-Team Offense


Drew Lock Missouri 

Jarrett Stidham Auburn 

Jalen Hurts Alabama 


Kerryon Johnson Auburn 

Benny Snell Kentucky 

Damien Harris Alabama 


Nick Chubb Georgia 

Derrius Guice LSU 

Jordan Wilkins Ole Miss 


Christian Kirk Texas A&M 

DJ Chark LSU 

Sony Michel Georgia 


Calvin Ridley Alabama 

J'Mon Moore Missouri 

Emanuel Hall Missouri 


A.J. Brown Ole Miss 

Ryan Davis Auburn 

Javon Wims Georgia 


Hayden Hurst South Carolina 

Albert Okwuegbunam Missouri 

Trent Sherfield (WR) Vanderbilt 


Will Clapp LSU 

Frank Ragnow Arkansas 

Lamont Gaillard Georgia 


Jonah Williams Alabama 

Greg Little Ole Miss 

Zack Bailey South Carolina 


Braden Smith Auburn 

Martinas Rankin Miss. State 

Austin Golson Auburn 


Isaiah Wynn Georgia 

Ross Pierschbacher Alabama 

Tre'Vour Simms Missouri 


Bradley Bozeman (C) Alabama 

Trey Smith Tennessee 

Toby Weathersby LSU 






First-Team Defense

Second-Team Defense

Third-Team Defense


Jeff Holland Auburn 

Da'Ron Payne Alabama 

Marquis Haynes Ole Miss 


Jeffery Simmons Miss. State 

Marcell Frazier Missouri 

Dante Sawyer South Carolina 


Raekwon Davis Alabama 

Cece Jefferson  Florida 

Taven Bryan Florida 


Montez Sweat Miss. State 

Derrick Brown Auburn 

Breeland Speaks Ole Miss 


Roquan Smith Georgia 

Skai Moore South Carolina 

Josh Allen Kentucky 


Devin White LSU 

De'Jon Harris Arkansas 

Lorenzo Carter Georgia 


Rashaan Evans Alabama 

Otaro Alaka Texas A&M 

Terez Hall Missouri 


Duke Dawson Florida 

Carlton Davis Auburn 

Deandre Baker Georgia 


Andraez Williams LSU 

Levi Wallace Alabama 

Donte Jackson LSU 


Minkah Fitzpatrick Alabama 

J.R. Reed Georgia 

Rashaan Gaulden (CB) Tennessee 


Armani Watts Texas A&M 

Ronnie Harrison  Alabama 

Stephen Roberts Auburn 






First-Team Specialists

Second-Team Specialists

Third-Team Specialists


Daniel Carlson Auburn 

Eddy Pineiro Florida 

Rodrigo Blankenship Georgia 


JK Scott Alabama 

Johnny Townsend Florida 

Shane Tripucka Texas A&M 


Christian Kirk Texas A&M 

Mecole Hardman Georgia 

De'Vion Warren Arkansas  


DJ Chark LSU 

Richaud Floyd Missouri 

Mecole Hardman Georgia