Skip to main content

SEC 2018 Season Awards and All-Conference Team

Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama Crimson Tide Football

Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama Crimson Tide Football

Alabama and Georgia were a step ahead from the rest of the SEC this year, so it’s no surprise these two teams take 26 overall selections on Athlon’s 2018 All-SEC squad. The Crimson Tide and Bulldogs are both tied with 13 selections apiece, with coach Nick Saban’s team placing five players on the first team, including quarterback Tua Tagovailoa, left tackle Jonah Williams and lineman Quinnen Williams. Kentucky is a big winner in the postseason awards, as Mark Stoops earned Athlon’s SEC Coach of the Year award, with linebacker Josh Allen taking home the top defensive player honor for the conference.

SEC 2018 Awards

Off. Player of the Year: Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama

Def. Player of the Year: Josh Allen, Kentucky

Coach of the Year: Mark Stoops, Kentucky

Best Freshman (Offense): Jaylen Waddle, Alabama

Best Freshman (Defense): Patrick Surtain, Alabama

Off. Coordinator of the Year: Mike Locksley, Alabama

Def. Coordinator of the Year: Bob Shoop, Miss. State

Newcomer of the Year: Jace Sternberger, Texas A&M

Breakout Player: Ke’Shawn Vaughn, Vanderbilt

With the regular season completed and bowl season starting on Dec. 15, it’s time to recap and look back at the 2018 campaign. Athlon Sports offers its awards and honors the best players in the league with the first, second and third all-conference teams for the SEC:

SEC 2018 Postseason All-Conference Team


First-Team Offense

Second-Team Offense

Third-Team Offense


Tua Tagovailoa Alabama

Jake Fromm Georgia

Drew Lock Missouri


Benny Snell Kentucky

Ke'Shawn Vaughn Vanderbilt

Elijah Holyfield Georgia


Trayveon Williams Texas A&M

D'Andre Swift Georgia

Damien Harris Alabama


Deebo Samuel South Carolina

Lynn Bowden Kentucky

Mecole Hardman Georgia


A.J. Brown Ole Miss

Bryan Edwards South Carolina

Kalija Lipscomb Vanderbilt


Jerry Jeudy Alabama

Emanuel Hall Missouri

Cheyenne O'Grady (TE) Arkansas 


Jace Sternberger Texas A&M

Irv Smith Alabama

Jared Pinkney Vanderbilt


Lamont Galliard Georgia

Ross Pierschbacher Alabama

Erik McCoy Texas A&M 


Jonah Williams Alabama

Jawaan Taylor Florida

Hjalte Froholdt Arkansas


Andrew Thomas Georgia

Solomon Kindley Georgia

Deion Calhoun Miss. State


Greg Little Ole Miss

Tre'vour Wallace-Simms Missouri

Martez Ivey Florida


Bunchy Stallings Kentucky

Zack Bailey South Carolina

Bruno Reagan Vanderbilt






First-Team Defense

Second-Team Defense

Third-Team Defense


Quinnen Williams Alabama

Isaiah Buggs Alabama

Raekwon Davis Alabama


Jeffery Simmons Miss. State

Derrick Brown Auburn

Armon Watts Arkansas


Jachai Polite Florida

Terry Beckner Missouri

Javon Kinlaw South Carolina


Montez Sweat Miss. State

Jonathan Ledbetter Georgia

Daylon Mack Texas A&M


Josh Allen Kentucky

D'Andre Walker Georgia

Otaro Alaka Texas A&M


Devin White LSU

De'Jon Harris Arkansas

Dylan Moses Alabama


Deshaun Davis Auburn

Cale Garrett Missouri

Erroll Thompson Miss. State


Deandre Baker Georgia

Joejuan Williams Vanderbilt

DeMarkus Acy Missouri


Greedy Williams LSU

Cameron Dantzler Miss. State

CJ Henderson Florida


Grant Delpit LSU

Johnathan Abram Miss. State

Mike Edwards Kentucky


Deionte Thompson Alabama

J.R. Reed Georgia

Kristian Fulton (CB) LSU 






First-Team Specialists

Second-Team Specialists

Third-Team Specialists


Cole Tracy LSU

Rodrigo Blankenship Georgia

Connor Limpert Arkansas


Braden Mann Texas A&M

Tommy Townsend Florida

Zach Von Rosenberg LSU


Deebo Samuel South Carolina

Josh Jacobs Alabama

De'Vion Warren Arkansas


Mecole Hardman Georgia

Jaylen Waddle Alabama

Marquez Callaway Tennessee