Skip to main content

Top 10 Non-Power 5 Conference College Football Teams of All Time

Top 10 Non-Power 5 Conference College Football Teams of All Time

In 2017, UCF went undefeated including upsetting Auburn in the Peach Bowl

Cincinnati did not win the College Football Playoff and claim the national title, but the Bearcats are still one of the best non-Power 5 teams of all time. The Power 5 now consists of the ACC, Big 12, Big Ten, Pac-12, and SEC conferences and was proceeded by the Bowl Championship Series (BCS). Before that, there were more major conferences, including the Big East and Southwest Conference. Nevertheless, the teams on the outside striving for greatness had to be perfect and hope the powers that be gave them the opportunity to prove themselves on college football’s big stage. Some got the opportunity. Some didn't. 

Before we dive into the 10 greatest non-Power 5 teams, we say goodbye to the 1998 Tulane Green Wave

Running a spread offense designed by Rich Rodriguez and helmed by quarterback Shaun King, the Green Wave averaged 45 points a game en route to an undefeated season. After the regular season, head coach Tommy Bowden left for Clemson, but Tulane took care of business in the Liberty Bowl, beating a 9-3 BYU team 41-27 to finish the season ranked No. 7.

10. 1973-74 Miami (Ohio) Redskins

Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, is called the “Cradle of Coaches” because an unprecedented number of successful coaches have passed through the program. Some of the greats include Paul Brown, Woody Hayes, Ara Parseghian, Bo Schembechler, John Harbaugh, and Sean Payton. None though were as successful in Oxford as Bill Mallory and Dick Crum. The 1973 team, coached by Mallory, went 11-0, beating No. 19 Kent State and then a 7-4 Florida team in the Tangerine Bowl. Mallory left after the season for Colorado and was replaced by Crum, who continued the unbeaten streak. The Redskins (Miami did not change their mascot to the RedHawks until 1996) went 10-0-1, their only blemish being a 7-7 tie to Purdue. They closed the season with a 21-10 win over Georgia in the Tangerine Bowl and a No. 10 ranking.

9. 1999 Marshall Thundering Herd

Led by quarterback Chad Pennington, the Thundering Herd kicked off the season with a win over Clemson in Death Valley and then blew through its MAC competition on its way to an undefeated regular season. In the MAC Championship Game, Marshall overcame a 20-0 halftime deficit to top Western Michigan 34-30 and then beat an 8-3 BYU team in the Motor City Bowl to finish the season ranked No. 10.

8. 2021 Cincinnati Bearcats

While they did lose to Alabama in the College Football Playoff, the Bearcats were the first to make it there because of their body of work. Cincinnati beat Notre Dame in South Bend, won the AAC, and finished the regular season undefeated. While its loss to the Tide was not close, it was not brutal either.

7. 2004 Utah Utes

The first non-Power5 team to be selected for a BCS bowl entered the season ranked No. 19 and opened with wins over Texas A&M and Arizona. The Utes' spread offense, led by eventual No. 1 overall pick Alex Smith, overwhelmed opponents beating them all by two touchdowns or more. When the regular season ended, Utah was invited to the Fiesta Bowl to play Big East champion Pittsburgh. Head coach Urban Meyer had accepted the top job at Florida but recognized the significance of the moment and stayed to coach the Utes to a 35-7 victory over the Panthers.

6. 2006 Boise State Broncos

The Broncos beat Oregon State early in the season and went 12-0, becoming the second non-Power 5 team to earn a BCS bid. In the Fiesta Bowl, they faced Big 12 champion and 11-1 Oklahoma. Unless you have been living under a rock for the past 10 years, you are probably aware that Boise State upset the Sooners in one of the most dramatic games in college football history.

5. 2017 UCF Knights

The Knights entered the season unranked and managed to stay focused despite not playing for three weeks in September due to Hurricane Irma. From there, they dispatched all of their American Athletic Conference foes, including Navy, South Florida, and Memphis (twice). Then, of course, No. 12 UCF upset No. 7 Auburn 34-27 in the Peach Bowl. Since the Tigers beat both Alabama and Georgia, that season's national title game participants, the 2017 UCF Knights (13-0) were the first legitimate argument for why an undefeated non-Power 5 team should be considered for a playoff spot.

4. 1984 BYU Cougars

The Cougars’ wide-open passing attack and bowl wins over big schools had vaulted the program to national prominence in the early 1980s. When BYU upset No. 3 Pittsburgh to start the season, it quickly moved up in the rankings. As the Cougars kept winning and other programs kept losing, they rose in the polls, finally attaining the No. 1 ranking the last weekend of the season. BYU then beat a 6-5 Michigan team in the Holiday Bowl to win the only national title awarded to a school outside the Power 5 in the modern football era. Could the Cougars have beaten Washington, who finished No. 2 that season? I don’t know, but I would have loved to have seen that game.

3. 2009 Boise State Broncos

The Broncos started the season by beating eventual Pac-12 champion Oregon on the way to its second undefeated regular season in a row. They were one of five undefeated teams going into the postseason but got the opportunity to face No. 3 TCU in the Fiesta Bowl. The Horned Frogs had spoiled Boise State’s perfect season the year before with a 17-16 win in the Poinsettia Bowl, but in this game the Broncos got revenge with a 17-10 victory to finish the season ranked No. 4.

2. 2008 Utah Utes

The Utes kicked off the season with an upset of Michigan in Ann Arbor and kept rolling. Along the way, they beat Oregon State and Mountain West foes No. 11 TCU and No. 14 BYU to finish the season undefeated, earning a bid to the Sugar Bowl. There, Utah shocked No. 4 Alabama with a 31-17 upset to finish the season ranked No. 2 in the AP poll. In 2011, Utah left the Mountain West to join the Pac-12, its success having much to do with the move up in competition.

1. 2010 TCU Horned Frogs

Prior to 1995, TCU had enjoyed the status as a major team and had won two national titles. Then the Southwest Conference dissolved and the Horned Frogs were not invited to join the Big 12, relegating them to mid-major status. When head coach Gary Patterson took over in 2000, he built a program that returned TCU to national glory. The Horned Frogs had seven 10-win seasons in the 2000s and closed the decade with the best season in school history. TCU started the season ranked No. 6 and opened with a win over No. 24 Oregon State in the Cowboys Classic. The Horned Frogs then dominated the rest of their competition, including No. 6 Utah, holding teams to just 11.4 points per game. TCU finished the season ranked No. 3 and became the first non-BCS school to earn a Rose Bowl berth, where it beat No. 4 Wisconsin 21-19. The Horned Frogs came full circle in 2012 when they joined the Big 12. They won a conference title in 2014.

— Written by Aaron Tallent, who is part of the Athlon Contributor Network. Tallent is a writer whose articles have appeared in The Sweet Science, FOX Sports’ Outkick the Coverage, Liberty Island and The Washington Post. Follow him on Twitter at @AaronTallent.