Skip to main content

Ryder Cup 2018: Teams, Scoring and Format Explained

Ryder Cup: Teams, Scoring and Format Explained

Ryder Cup: Teams, Scoring and Format Explained

The 42nd Ryder Cup tees off at Le Golf National in Paris, France, from Sept. 28-30. Captains Jim Furyk (USA) and Thomas Bjorn (Europe) will bring two teams comprised of 12 players — eight who qualified via points and four captain’s picks — to compete in 28 matches, each played to a maximum of 18 holes.

Days 1 and 2 consist of four foursome (alternate shot) matches and four fourball (better ball) matches each day, while Day 3 concludes with 12 head-to-head singles matches. Each match is worth one point, with 14 ½ points needed to win the cup. In the case of a 14–14 tie, the defending champion retains the cup. (Captain Davis Love III and Team USA won 17–11 at Hazeltine National Golf Club in Minnesota in 2016.)

From 1927–77, the USA played a combination of Great Britain (since 1927), Northern Ireland (1947) and Ireland (1953). Since 1979, the biennial format has been USA vs. Europe. Historically, the USA leads Europe in the series, 26–13–2. (Five Ryder Cups went unplayed due to World War II and 9/11.)

Here’s a rundown of this year’s teams:

Team USA


Jim Furyk


David Duval

Zach Johnson

Matt Kuchar

Davis Love III

Steve Stricker

Qualified Players

(In order of qualifying points)

Brooks Koepka

Dustin Johnson

Justin Thomas

Patrick Reed

Bubba Watson

Jordan Spieth

Rickie Fowler

Webb Simpson

Captain’s Picks

Bryson DeChambeau

Tony Finau

Phil Mickelson

Tiger Woods

Team Europe


Thomas Bjorn, Denmark


Luke Donald, England

Padraig Harrington, Ireland

Robert Karlsson, Sweden

Graeme McDowell, Northern Ireland

Lee Westwood, England

Qualified Players

(In order of qualifying points)

Francesco Molinari, Italy

Justin Rose, England

Tyrell Hatton, England

Tommy Fleetwood, England

Thorbjorn Olesen, Denmark

Jon Rahm, Spain

Rory McIlroy, Northern Ireland

Alex Noren, Sweden

Captain’s Picks

Paul Casey, England

Sergio Garcia, Spain

Ian Poulter, England

Henrik Stenson, Sweden