Athlon Sports 2016 MLB Predictions: The World Series, Teams and Award Winners

With spring training around the corner, here's a snapshot of our picks for 2016

Last season, one fan base saw something they probably thought would never happen again: The Kansas City Royals won the World Series for the first time in 30 years.


The question for 2016 seems to be if another franchise will end a drought. Or will baseball again work like clockwork in an even-numbered year?


Naturally, the longest drought belongs to the Chicago Cubs, who have been building and re-building and building again since 1908. The New York Mets will look to follow the Royals lead by turning a loss in the World Series into a championship the following year to end a 30-year drought.


Perhaps the Blue Jays will end their own drought after last winning back-to-back titles in 1992-93.


The San Francisco Giants, though, are ready to contend for another world championship in an even-numbered year after winning the 2010, 2012 and 2014 titles.


Then again, the Royals won’t go away quietly and will try to be the first franchise to win back-to-back titles since the Yankees from 1998-2000.


Athlon Sports will give you the most complete look at the 2016 season in our Baseball Preview annual, available now on newsstands everywhere.


As a tease, here are our picks for each division and major awards.


Division Predictions
  AL East   NL East
1. 1.

(wild card)


(wild card)

3. 3.
4. 4.
5. 5.
  AL Central   NL Central
1. 1.
2. 2.
3. 3.
4. 4.
5. 5.
  AL West   NL West
1. 1.

(wild card)


(wild card)

3. 3.
4. 4.
5. 5.
MLB Playoff Predictions





World Series



MLB Individual Awards

1. Mike Trout, OF, Los Angeles Angels

2. Miguel Cabrera, 1B, Detroit Tigers

3. Josh Donaldson, 3B, Toronto Blue Jays

4. Carlos Correa, SS, Houston Astros

5. Manny Machado, 3B, Baltimore Orioles

6. Jose Bautista, OF, Toronto Blue Jays

7. Jose Abreu, 1B/DH, Chicago White Sox

8. Lorenzo Cain, OF, Kansas City Royals

9. Mookie Betts, OF, Boston Red Sox

10. Eric Hosmer, 1B, Kansas City Royals

1. Bryce Harper, OF, Washington Nationals

2. Paul Goldschmidt, 1B, Arizona Diamondbacks

3. Andrew McCutchen, OF, Pittsburgh Pirates

4. Buster Posey, C, San Francisco Giants

5. Anthony Rizzo, 1B, Chicago Cubs

6. Clayton Kershaw, LHP, Los Angeles Dodgers

7. A.J. Pollock, OF, Arizona Diamondbacks

8. Giancarlo Stanton, OF, Miami Marlins

9. Kris Bryant, 3B, Chicago Cubs

10. Nolan Arenado, 3B, Colorado Rockies

AL Cy Young NL Cy Young

1. David Price, Boston Red Sox

2. Dallas Keuchel, Houston Astros

3. Chris Sale, Chicago White Sox

4. Sonny Gray, Oakland A’s

5. Chris Archer, Tampa Bay Rays

1. Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles Dodgers

2. Zack Greinke, Arizona Diamondbacks

3. Jake Arrieta, Chicago Cubs

4. Matt Harvey, New York Mets

5. Madison Bumgarner, San Francisco Giants

AL Rookie of the Year NL Rookie of the Year

1. Byung Ho Park, 1B/DH, Minnesota Twins

2. Byron Buxton, OF, Minnesota Twins

3. Joey Gallo, 3B/OF, Texas Rangers

4. Jose Berrios, RHP, Minnesota Twins

5. A.J. Reed, 1B, Houston Astros

1. Corey Seager, 3B/SS, Los Angeles Dodgers

2. Hector Olivera, 3B/OF, Atlanta Braves

3. Kenta Maeda, RHP, Los Angeles Dodgers

4. Trea Turner, SS, Washington Nationals

5. Steven Matz, LHP, New York Mets


More Stories: