Boston Red Sox and the Green Monster
Q: On the scoreboard on the Green Monster at Fenway Park, there is Morse code in two places spelling out âTAYâ and âJRY.â What is the story behind these markings? And isnât the âRâ rendered incorrectly?
â Charlie Kelly, Natick, Mass.
A: Your question gives us the opportunity to note that this year marks a significant anniversary in baseball: the Fenway Park centennial. The Red Sox played their first game at Fenway Park on April 20, 1912, beating the New York Highlanders, as the Yankees were then known, 7â6 in 11 innings. Fenway stands as the oldest park currently in use, an authentic time capsule full of quirks and unusual details, including the Morse code that appears on the left field scoreboard. Framing the American League scores, arranged vertically, are dots and dashes representing âTAYâ and âJRYâ â the initials of former owner Thomas A. Yawkey, who owned the team from 1933 until his death in 1976, and his wife, Jean R. Yawkey, who succeeded Tom as owner from 1976 until her death in 1992. The Morse code was added in the late 1940s, around the time that the wall was painted its familiar green color to cut the glare for the hitters. As for the mistake? Youâre very observant. Dick Bresciani, VP of Publications and Archives for the Red Sox, tells us that when the wall was rebuilt in the winter of 1975-76, there was an error in the painting of the R.
â Mitch Light, Managing Editor
Have a question? Email us with any sports-related questions at [email protected]
Please include first and last name, plus hometown.