Skip to main content

Athlon Sports' 2022 MLB Predictions: The World Series, Teams and Award Winners

Freddie Freeman, 1B, Los Angeles Dodgers

After winning the World Series with the Braves, Freddie Freeman is looking to go back-to-back with the Dodgers, who have added even more reinforcements to an already-loaded roster

After a lengthy lockout, baseball is finally set to return. Sure, Opening Day was pushed back a week, but the MLB season is set to play a full 162 games, which was not a given earlier this winter.

The return of spring weather brings hope for every team. The reigning World Series champion Braves will hope to mount a title defense, although their former MVP Freddie Freeman will be suiting up for perhaps the most dangerous team in the game: the Los Angeles Dodgers. Spending on player salaries may be down, but more teams are making surprise splashes, such as the Minnesota Twins signing Carlos Correa post-lockout and the Rangers swinging big before the work stoppage with Corey Seager and Marcus Semien.

Athlon Sports is previewing everything you need to know about this campaign, and you can still get a physical or digital copy of the 224-page Athlon Sports 2022 Baseball Annual in our online store or at your local newsstand.

2022 Athlon Sports Baseball Annual/MLB Preview Magazine

With 25 different covers to choose from, order the most complete print preview to the 2022 MLB season today or purchase a digital edition for instant access.

Here’s a look at how Athlon sees this season playing out, from the standings in each division, to major award winners and our World Series prediction.

AL East

1. Toronto Blue Jays
2. Tampa Bay Rays*
3. New York Yankees*
4. Boston Red Sox*
5. Baltimore Orioles

AL Central

1. Chicago White Sox
2. Minnesota Twins
3. Detroit Tigers
4. Cleveland Guardians
5. Kansas City Royals

AL West

1. Houston Astros
2. Los Angeles Angels
3. Seattle Mariners
4. Texas Rangers
5. Oakland Athletics

NL East

1. Atlanta Braves
2. New York Mets*
3. Philadelphia Phillies
4. Miami Marlins
5. Washington Nationals

NL Central

1. St. Louis Cardinals
2. Milwaukee Brewers*
3. Chicago Cubs
4. Cincinnati Reds
5. Pittsburgh Pirates

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

NL West

1. Los Angeles Dodgers
2. San Diego Padres*
3. San Francisco Giants
4. Arizona Diamondbacks
5. Colorado Rockies

*Wild Card

Postseason Predictions

White Sox over Red Sox
Yankees over Rays
Cardinals over Brewers
Mets over Padres

Astros over Yankees
Blue Jays over White Sox
Dodgers over Brewers
Braves over Mets

Astros over Blue Jays
Dodgers over Mets

Dodgers over Astros in 6


1. Vladimir Guerrero Jr., 1B, Toronto Blue Jays
2. Mike Trout, OF, Los Angeles Angels
3. Shohei Ohtani, DH/RHP, Los Angeles Angels
4. Aaron Judge, OF, New York Yankees
5. Wander Franco, SS, Tampa Bay Rays
6. Alex Bregman, 3B, Houston Astros
7. Rafael Devers, 3B, Boston Red Sox
8. Luis Robert, OF, Chicago White Sox
9. Carlos Correa, SS, Minnesota Twins
10. Corey Seager, SS, Texas Rangers


1. Bryce Harper, OF, Philadelphia Phillies
2. Juan Soto, OF, Washington Nationals
3. Trea Turner, SS, Los Angeles Dodgers
4. Mookie Betts, OF, Los Angeles Dodgers
5. Paul Goldschmidt, 1B, St. Louis Cardinals
6. Ronald Acuña Jr, OF, Atlanta Braves
7. Freddie Freeman, 1B, Los Angeles Dodgers
8. Matt Olson, 1B, Atlanta Braves
9. Francisco Lindor, SS, New York Mets
10. Fernando Tatís Jr., SS, San Diego Padres

AL Cy Young

1. Gerrit Cole, RHP, New York Yankees
2. Shane Bieber, RHP, Cleveland Guardians
3. Robbie Ray, LHP, Seattle Mariners
4. Justin Verlander, RHP, Houston Astros
5. Lucas Giolito, RHP, Chicago White Sox

NL Cy Young

1. Corbin Burnes, RHP, Milwaukee Brewers
2. Walker Buehler, RHP, Los Angeles Dodgers
3. Max Scherzer, RHP, New York Mets
4. Zack Wheeler, RHP, Philadelphia Phillies
5. Jacob deGrom, RHP, New York Mets

AL Rookie of the Year

1. Bobby Witt Jr., SS/3B, Kansas City Royals
2. Spencer Torkelson, 1B, Detroit Tigers
3. Julio Rodríguez, OF, Seattle Mariners
4. Adley Rutschman, C, Baltimore Orioles
5. Shane Baz, RHP, Tampa Bay Rays

NL Rookie of the Year

1. Seiya Suzuki, OF, Chicago Cubs
2. Keibert Ruiz, C, Washington Nationals
3. Hunter Greene, RHP, Cincinnati Reds
4. Joey Bart, C, San Francisco Giants
5. Oneil Cruz, SS, Pittsburgh Pirates