Skip to main content

Starting Lineup for Sunday's Indianapolis 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Starting Lineup for Sunday's Indianapolis 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway\

Starting Lineup for Sunday's Indianapolis 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway\

Auto racing's biggest day of the year will be headlined by the running of the 103rd Indianapolis 500 on Sunday at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Known as the "The Greatest Spectacle in Racing," the Indianapolis 500 will be sandwiched by Formula One's Monaco Grand Prix Sunday morning and NASCAR's Coca-Cola 600 that evening.

But most of the attention will be on Indianapolis Motor Speedway as 33 drivers will go head-to-head over 500 miles (200 laps) at the iconic track known as the Brickyard. This year's field features seven previous winners of the sport's signature event as well as six drivers making their Indianapolis 500 debut.

Simon Pagenaud is on the pole, claiming that spot for Team Penske for a record 18th straight year. The French driver's best finish in the Indianapolis 500 is sixth last year (he started that race second), but he is coming off of a win at this track just two weeks ago in the IndyCar Grand Prix. Pagenaud is joined on the front row by Americans Ed Carpenter and Spencer Pigot.

Will Power, last year's Indianapolis 500 winner, is on the outside of Row 2 (sixth). He is seeking to become just the sixth driver to win the Indianapolis 500 in consecutive years. The other previous winners in this year's field are: Alexander Rossi (ninth), Helio Castroneves (12th), Takuma Sato (14th), Tony Kanaan (16th), Scott Dixon (18th), and Ryan Hunter-Reay (22nd). A win by Castroneves would give him four and tie him with A.J. Foyt, Al Unser Sr., and Rick Mears for the most in Indianapolis 500 history.

In all, 10 countries are represented in this year's field – the U.S., the United Kingdom, Australia, Brazil, France, Sweden, Canada, Japan, Spain, and the United Arab Emirates. Thirty-six drivers attempted to qualify for this year's starting grid with three getting knocked out during the Last Row Shootout back on May 19.


1. Simon Pagenaud
2. Ed Carpenter
3. Spencer Pigot
4. Ed Jones
5. Colton Herta
6. Will Power
7. Sebastien Bourdais
8. Josef Newgarden
9. Alexander Rossi
10. Marco Andretti
11. Conor Daly
12. Helio Castroneves
13. Marcus Ericsson
14. Takuma Sato
15. James Davison
16. Tony Kanaan
17. Graham Rahal
18. Scott Dixon
19. Oriol Servia
20. Charlie Kimball
21. J. R. Hildebrand
22. Ryan Hunter-Reay
23. Santino Ferrucci
24. Matheus Leist
25. Jack Harvey
26. Jordan King
27. Ben Hanley
28. Zach Veach
29. Felix Rosenqvist
30. Pippa Mann
31. Sage Karam
32. James Hinchcliffe
33. Kyle Kaiser

Failed to qualify:
Fernando Alonso
Patricio O'Ward
Max Chilton


Race: Indianapolis 500

Track: Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Date: Sunday, May 26

Time: 12:45 p.m. ET (green flag drops)


Distance: 200 laps (500 miles)