Skip to main content

NASCAR Starting Lineup for Sunday's STP 500 at Martinsville Speedway

NASCAR Starting Lineup for STP 500 at Martinsville Speedway

NASCAR Starting Lineup for STP 500 at Martinsville Speedway

NASCAR’s short track season is underway with the starting lineup set for Sunday’s STP 500 at Martinsville Speedway. It's the sixth Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race of 2019 and the first at a track less than a mile in length.

The sport's shortest track is also one of its most action-packed. Rubbing fenders comes early and often at the .526-mile paperclip; plenty of wins have been decided by a bump-and-run. Martinsville is also the lone original track on NASCAR’s Cup schedule; Red Byron won the first edition back when it was just a dirt track in 1949.

Only the 36 chartered teams attempted this race, leaving the field four spots short. NASCAR's top series hasn't had a full field since February's season-opening Daytona 500.

Joey Logano won the pole for Sunday's race; it's the fifth of his career at Martinsville, the most for him at any track on the circuit. Logano is the most recent winner here with his bump-and-run of Martin Truex Jr. securing him a spot in the Championship 4 at Homestead-Miami Speedway. Logano would not have made the cut, let alone won the title without that last-lap pass.

1. Joey Logano

2. Aric Almirola

3. Brad Keselowski

4. Kevin Harvick

5. Denny Hamlin

6. William Byron

7. Kyle Larson

8. Chase Elliott

9. Martin Truex Jr.

10. Daniel Suarez

11. Clint Bowyer

12. Jimmie Johnson

13. Chris Buescher

14. Kyle Busch

15. Paul Menard

16. Ryan Preece

17. Alex Bowman

18. Ryan Blaney

19. Erik Jones

20. Kurt Busch

21. Ryan Newman

22. Matt DiBenedetto

23. Ty Dillon

24. Michael McDowell

25. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

26. David Ragan

27. Bubba Wallace

28. Landon Cassill

29. Daniel Hemric

30. Austin Dillon

31. Ross Chastain (i)

32. Matt Tifft

33. Jeb Burton (i)

34. DJ Kennington (i)

35. Corey Lajoie

36. Cody Ware

(i) – Ineligible to collect Cup Series points

Failed To Qualify



  • Corey Lajoie is headed to a backup car after a wreck in Saturday’s first practice. Lajoie’s Go FAS Racing Ford suffered heavy damage after brake failure sent him hard into the Turn 1 wall. He would qualify just 35th for Sunday’s race.
  • Team Penske has now won two poles this season, tying them with Stewart-Haas Racing for the team lead among MENCS owners.
  • Aric Almirola (2nd) has his second straight top-3 start. It’s the best Martinsville start of his career.
  • Denny Hamlin (5th) has qualified inside the top 10 for every MENCS race this season.
  • Ryan Preece (16th) was the top qualifying rookie.
  • Last week’s pole-sitter Austin Dillon (30th) has never qualified better than 12th at Martinsville. But he does have two top-5 finishes in 10 starts, proof of how you can pass at this short track.
  • Jeb Burton (33rd) is making his first MENCS start of the year running the No. 52 Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet.
  • DJ Kennington (34th) is behind the wheel of the Spire Motorsports No. 77 this week. Go-Parts is sponsoring the effort.


Race: STP 500

Track: Martinsville Speedway

Date: Sunday, March 24

Time: 2 p.m. ET

TV: FS1, 2 p.m. ET


Distance: 500 laps (263 miles)

Stage 1: 130 Laps

Stage 2: 130 Laps

Final Stage: 240 Laps


Chris Buescher chats about his hot 2019 start with JTG Daugherty Racing while Dustin Albino and Mike Neff preview Martinsville on the Frontstretch Podcast.