Skip to main content

Starting Lineup for Sunday's NASCAR All-Star Race at Texas Motor Speedway

Starting Lineup for Sunday's NASCAR All-Star Race at Texas Motor Speedway

Starting Lineup for Sunday's NASCAR All-Star Race at Texas Motor Speedway

The 37th edition of the NASCAR All-Star Race will be its first at 1.5-mile Texas Motor Speedway. The facility will become just the fourth track ever to host the non-points-paying event this Sunday (June 13), joining Atlanta Motor Speedway, Bristol Motor Speedway, and Charlotte Motor Speedway.

The current field of 17 Cup Series drivers qualified for this exhibition event in one of three ways.

  • They won a points-paying race during the 2020 or 2021 NASCAR Cup Series season
  • They won a Cup championship and still compete full-time
  • They won a previous edition of the All-Star Race and still compete full-time

Four additional spots in the field are being held until the day of the race, bringing this year’s All-Star Race grid to 21. Three stage winners from the All-Star Race Open will be added along with a winner of the Fan Vote advancing a driver who hasn't already qualified.

Here's a look at the current starting lineup along with how they made the All-Star Race.

1. Kyle Larson (2021 Race Winner)

2. Kyle Busch (2021 Race Winner)

3. Christopher Bell (2021 Race Winner)

4. Cole Custer (2020 Race Winner)

5. Austin Dillon (2020 Race Winner)

6. Chase Elliott (2021 Race Winner)

7. Joey Logano (2021 Race Winner)

8. William Byron (2021 Race Winner)

9. Brad Keselowski (2021 Race Winner)

10. Martin Truex Jr. (2021 Race Winner)

11. Michael McDowell (2021 Race Winner)

12. Kevin Harvick (2020 Race Winner)

13. Kurt Busch (2020 Race Winner)

14. Ryan Newman (2002 All-Star Race Winner)

15. Alex Bowman (2021 Race Winner)

16. Denny Hamlin (2020 Race Winner)

17. Ryan Blaney (2021 Race Winner)


  • Kyle Larson (pole) is looking for his second All-Star Race win in the last three years. He's never won a Cup race at Texas.
  • Kyle Busch (second) last won the All-Star Race in 2017. His lone win in the Cup Series last season came at Texas.
  • Chase Elliott (sixth) is the defending winner. The All-Star Race was held at Bristol last season.
  • Michael McDowell (11th) has qualified for the All-Star Race without having to transfer in for the first time in his Cup career.
  • Ryan Newman (14th) is the only driver in the field who hasn’t qualified due to winning a race. Newman, winless during his last three years with Roush Fenway Racing, won the All-Star Race in 2002 as a Cup rookie driving for Roger Penske.

The remaining 22 drivers who made the trip down to Texas will need to qualify for the main event through the All-Star Race Open. This 50-lap race is broken down into three stages of 20, 20 and 10 laps with each stage winner advancing on.

The starting lineup for the All-Star Open also was determined through a random draw. Tyler Reddick of Richard Childress Racing will start on the pole.

1. Tyler Reddick

2. Chris Buescher

3. Matt DiBenedetto

4. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

5. Ross Chastain

6. Bubba Wallace

7. Daniel Suarez

8. Erik Jones

9. Chase Briscoe (R)

10. Aric Almirola

11. Corey LaJoie

12. Anthony Alfredo (R)

13. Quin Houff

14. James Davison

15. Josh Bilicki

16. Austin Cindric

17. Cody Ware

18. BJ McLeod

19. Justin Haley

20. Garrett Smithley

21. Timmy Hill

22. David Starr

(R) – Cup Series rookie


  • Tyler Reddick (pole) has never won a Cup race.
  • Matt DiBenedetto (3rd) is the defending race winner.
  • Austin Cindric (16th) continues his limited schedule running a fourth, part-time Team Penske No. 33 Ford.


Race: NASCAR All-Star Open / NASCAR All-Star Race

Track: Texas Motor Speedway (Fort Worth)

Date: Sunday, June 13

TV: FS1, 6 p.m. ET (All-Star Open), 8 p.m. ET (All-Star Race)


Distance: 100 Laps in All-Star Race (broken into six parts)

Stages 1-4: 15 laps

Stage 5: 30 laps

Stage 6: 10 laps


Will Rodgers and Sam Hunt stop by the Frontstretch Podcast to chat about their new partial NASCAR Xfinity Series season deal before host Davey Segal leads the discussion on what to expect in the NASCAR All-Star Race.

— Written by Tom Bowles, who is part of the Athlon Contributor Network and the Majority Owner of NASCAR Web site He can be reached at or on Twitter @NASCARBowles.