Skip to main content

NASCAR Starting Lineup for Sunday's Daytona 500 at Daytona International Speedway

NASCAR Starting Lineup for Sunday's Daytona 500 at Daytona International Speedway

Defending NASCAR Cup Series champion Kyle Larson on point for the 64th edition of the Great American Race

One week after the NFL's Super Bowl, the NASCAR Cup Series kicks off a Super Bowl all its own with the 64th edition of the Great American Race. The 2022 Daytona 500 comes two weeks after the sport's successful L.A. exhibition, a Clash at the Coliseum that featured a special appearance from Ice Cube and a crowd estimated to be some 60,000 strong.

Related: 10 Tough Questions for the 2022 NASCAR Season

Reigning NASCAR Cup Series champion Kyle Larson picked up right where he left off in November during Speedweeks, winning the Daytona 500 pole in the race's unique qualifying format. Larson and Hendrick Motorsports teammate Alex Bowman locked down the front row Wednesday night, posting the fastest one-lap qualifying speeds among 42 drivers.

Spots 3-38 in the 40-car field were determined by Thursday night's qualifying Duels. The winner of Bluegreen Vacations Duel No. 1, Brad Keselowski, will start on the inside of row two while Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing teammate Chris Buescher will start alongside. The duo combined to sweep the Duels for RFK Racing in just their second time on track since Keselowski became part owner after the 2021 season.

Also notable in those races were Kaz Grala and Greg Biffle, each of whom secured a spot with their unchartered team. As drivers competing without one of the 36 guaranteed spots in the field, both needed to race into the field by finishing as the highest unchartered driver in their Duel.

The final two positions on the grid were determined by the fastest one-lap qualifying speed among drivers who weren’t already guaranteed a spot. Noah Gragson and former Formula 1 champion Jacques Villeneuve made the cut, leaving two drivers failing to qualify: JJ Yeley (No. 55) and Timmy Hill (No. 66), both driving for two-car MBM Motorsports.

Here’s how the lineup shakes out heading into Sunday's Great American Race. Keep in mind Joey Logano will be moved to the back after wrecking at the finish of his Duel event; his Team Penske No. 22 team is using a backup car.

1. Kyle Larson
2. Alex Bowman
3. Brad Keselowski
4. Chris Buescher
5. Austin Cindric (R)
6. Michael McDowell
7. Ryan Blaney
8. Harrison Burton (R)
9. Chase Briscoe
10. Kyle Busch
11. Chase Elliott
12. Christopher Bell
13. Erik Jones
14. Martin Truex Jr.
15. Tyler Reddick
16. Bubba Wallace
17. Kurt Busch
18. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
19. Ross Chastain
20. Joey Logano
21. Daniel Suarez
22. Kevin Harvick
23. William Byron Jr.
24. Corey LaJoie
25. Justin Haley
26. Ty Dillon
27. Landon Cassill (i)
28. Greg Biffle (i)
29. Todd Gilliland (R)
30. Denny Hamlin
31. Cole Custer
32. Cody Ware
33. Daniel Hemric (i)
34. David Ragan
35. Kaz Grala (i)
36. Austin Dillon
37. BJ McLeod
38. Aric Almirola
39. Noah Gragson (i)
40. Jacques Villeneuve

(R) – Rookie
(i) – Ineligible to collect Cup Series points

Qualifying Notes

NASCAR Race Breakdown

Race: Daytona 500
Track: Daytona International Speedway
Date: Sunday, Feb. 20
TV: FOX, 2:30 p.m. ET
Distance: 200 laps (500 miles)
Stage 1: 65 Laps
Stage 2: 65 Laps
Final Stage: 70 Laps

Pre-Race Preview

Kaz Grala puts on his boxing gloves and goes punch-for-punch on the Frontstretch Podcast with host Davey Segal. Grala details his new partnership with Mayweather and The Money Team, including whether the two might be sparring in a ring near you before writers Daniel McFadin and Zach Sturniolo chime in with their thoughts on Daytona Speedweeks.

Don't forget about Athlon Sports' 2022 Racing magazine. With 144 pages of racing content, it's the most complete preview available today. Click here to get your copy or purchase the digital edition for instant access.