Skip to main content

NASCAR Starting Lineup for Sunday's Drydene 400 at Dover International Speedway

NASCAR Starting Lineup for Sunday's Drydene 400 at Dover International Speedway

NASCAR Starting Lineup for Sunday's Drydene 400 at Dover International Speedway

The Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series kicks off the second round of its 2019 playoffs with its second visit to Dover International Speedway. And with Talladega Superspeedway looming next week, all 12 playoff drivers want the victory this weekend that will allow them to enter the Alabama track with a modicum of security in their title hopes.

As you would expect, playoff drivers swept the top six starting positions with Denny Hamlin leading the way alongside Kyle Larson. The top-four qualifiers broke the track record set earlier this year by Chase Elliott's pole run.

Aric Almirola, Kurt Busch, and Erik Jones, all of whom were eliminated at the end of the first round of the playoffs last weekend, took the only three starting positions in the top 10 not occupied by playoff drivers.

Meanwhile, Jimmie Johnson, the winningest driver at Dover, will start 11th.

Thirty-eight cars showed up to compete for 40 spots on the grid. That meant no one failed to qualify for Sunday's race.

1. Denny Hamlin (P)

2. Kyle Larson (P)

3. Martin Truex Jr. (P)

4. Kevin Harvick (P)

5. Chase Elliott (P)

6. William Byron (P)

7. Aric Almirola

8. Erik Jones

9. Kurt Busch

10. Ryan Blaney (P)

11. Jimmie Johnson

12. Alex Bowman (P)

13. Paul Menard

14. Joey Logano (P)

15. Daniel Suarez

16. Brad Keselowski (P)

17. Clint Bowyer (P)

18. Kyle Busch (P)

19. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

20. Matt DiBenedetto

21. David Ragan

22. Chris Buescher

23. Matt Tifft

24. Ryan Newman

25. Ty Dillon

26. Bubba Wallace

27. Austin Dillon

28. Michael McDowell

29. Corey Lajoie

30. Landon Cassill (i)

31. Daniel Hemric

32. Ryan Preece

33. BJ McLeod (i)

34. Ross Chastain (i)

35. JJ Yeley (i)

36. Joe Nemechek (i)

37. Garrett Smithley (i)

38. Reed Sorenson

(i) – Ineligible to collect Cup Series points
(P) – Playoff Driver
Failed To Qualify – None


  • Polesitter Denny Hamlin will make his 500th career Cup Series start Sunday. Matt Kenseth and Richard Petty both won in their 500th career starts and Hamlin looks to recreate that magic. Though his numbers at Dover aren't terribly impressive, he has five top 10s in the last seven events, including a runner-up result in this race last season.
  • Kyle Larson, starting second, posted his ninth top-10 qualifying run in 12 starts at the Monster Mile. Still winless this season, he finished inside the top 10 just four times in the first 15 races of the season, but in the last 14 events, he's posted 10 top 10s, including a best finish of second at Darlington.
  • Martin Truex Jr. posted the third-quickest lap in qualifying but will start at the rear of the field after failing inspection multiple times. Engineer James Small was also ejected.
  • Fresh off of a win last weekend at the Charlotte ROVAL, Chase Elliott will start fifth at a track where he holds the best average finish among active drivers at 4.4.
  • After starting on the pole, leading 23 laps and finishing sixth last weekend at the Charlotte ROVAL, William Byron lines up sixth with his playoff hopes still alive.
  • Alex Bowman, who finished second last week at the ROVAL despite being ill all weekend and emerging from the car severely dehydrated, lines up 12th after nearly losing his car during his qualifying run.
  • Current point leader Kyle Busch also almost wrecked during his run and will start 18th. He's struggled in recent weeks with just one result inside the top 15 in the last four races, including a pair of 37th-place finish at Indianapolis Motor Speedway and the Charlotte ROVAL.


Race: Drydene 400

Track: Dover International Speedway (Dover, Del.)

Date: Sunday, Oct. 6

Time: 2:30 p.m. ET



Distance: 400 laps (400 miles)

Stage 1: 120 Laps

Stage 2: 120 Laps

Final Stage: 160 Laps

— Written by Beth Lunkenheimer, who is the Content Director of NASCAR Web site She can be reached at or on Twitter @NASCARBeth.