Skip to main content

NASCAR Starting Lineup for Sunday's FanShield 500 at Phoenix Raceway

NASCAR Starting Lineup for Sunday's FanShield 500 at Phoenix Raceway

NASCAR Starting Lineup for Sunday's FanShield 500 at Phoenix Raceway

It took four weeks, but it looks like the NASCAR Cup Series will finally run a race this season that isn't affected by weather. As the series descends on Phoenix Raceway, Chase Elliott, who used the traction compound put down on the one-mile oval, posted a 138.116 mph lap, good enough for his ninth career pole.

Elliott edged Kevin Harvick by a slim 0.045 seconds and will lead the field to the green flag in Sunday's FanShield 500. Denny Hamlin will start third, followed by Kyle Larson. Ryan Blaney rounds out the top five.

Aric Almirola starts sixth, ahead of Kurt Busch and Auto Club winner Alex Bowman. Matt DiBenedetto and defending race winner Kyle Busch round out the top 10.

Martin Truex Jr., who wasn't allowed to post a qualifying lap last weekend, was 12th-quickest but will drop to the rear of the field following an engine change Friday night. He will be joined by John Hunter Nemechek, who qualified 26th, after the No. 38 team changed the radiator.

Ross Chastain remains behind the wheel of the No. 6 Chevrolet in place of Ryan Newman, who was at Phoenix Raceway on Friday. Though Newman has no timetable for his return following a head injury suffered at Daytona International Speedway, he told media that he "feels fine" and it's "great to be alive." Chastain will start 24th Sunday.

1. Chase Elliott

2. Kevin Harvick

3. Denny Hamlin

4. Kyle Larson

5. Ryan Blaney

6. Aric Almirola

7. Kurt Busch

8. Alex Bowman

9. Matt DiBenedetto

10. Kyle Busch

11. Erik Jones

12. Martin Truex Jr.

13. Joey Logano

14. Brad Keselowski

15. Christopher Bell (R)

16. Cole Custer (R)

17. William Byron

18. Clint Bowyer

19. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

20. Ryan Preece

21. Jimmie Johnson

22. Michael McDowell

23. Chris Buescher

24. Ross Chastain (I)

25. Ty Dillon

26. John Hunter Nemechek (R)

27. Bubba Wallace

28. Corey Lajoie

29. Tyler Reddick (R)

30. Austin Dillon

31. Daniel Suarez

32. Brennan Poole (R)

33. JJ Yeley (I)

34. Quin Houff (R)

35. Reed Sorenson

36. Garrett Smithley

37. Joey Gase (I)

38. Timmy Hill (I)

(R) – Rookie

(I) – Ineligible to collect Cup Series points


  • Chase Elliott's pole was his first at Phoenix Raceway. In eight starts at the one-mile oval, he has four top 10s; Elliott finished 14th and 39th, respectively, in last year's races at the track.
  • Kyle Busch (10th) is the race's defending winner. He started on the pole for the Xfinity Series race Saturday and finished third. The driver of the No. 18 Toyota has three wins and 21 top-10 finishes in 29 starts at the track.
  • Kevin Harvick (2nd) is the active driver with the most wins (nine) at Phoenix Raceway, including his most recent trip to victory lane at the one-mile oval in this race in 2018. He also has 23 top 10s in 34 starts at the track. Harvick also has the best average finish at Phoenix at 9.2.


Race: FanShield 500

Track: Phoenix Raceway (Avondale, Ariz.)

Date: Sunday, March 8

Time: 3:44 p.m. ET

TV: FOX, 3:30 p.m. ET

Radio: MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio

Distance: 312 miles (312 laps)

Stage 1: 75 Laps

Stage 2: 75 Laps

Final Stage: 162 Laps