Skip to main content

NASCAR Starting Lineup for Sunday's Ford EcoBoost 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway

NASCAR Starting Lineup for Sunday's Ford EcoBoost 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway

NASCAR Starting Lineup for Sunday's Ford EcoBoost 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway

Just 400 miles remain in the 2019 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series season. Homestead-Miami Speedway's 1.5-mile oval is the spot for their finale, the Ford EcoBoost 400, in which four drivers will compete amongst each other to win the series title.

It's the last year this track will host NASCAR's championship weekend for the foreseeable future. A 2020 schedule shakeup has moved the track's race date to March; Phoenix's ISM Raceway will take over this spot next year.

It's a shame because this track is often the most competitive intermediate on the circuit. Progressive banking and multiple grooves lead to side-by-side action all around this track. Typically, races here are relatively clean and decided by speed and handling, not pit strategy or a bevy of wrecks and caution flags.

A rainout of qualifying meant the drivers will line up by owner points. That puts each of the four title contenders right up front, leaving the championship battle front and center from the drop of the green flag.

Canceling qualifying was an easy decision for NASCAR to make with only 40 cars entered for 40 spots on the grid. It's just the 11th full field in 36 races this season.

1. Denny Hamlin (P)

2. Kevin Harvick (P)

3. Martin Truex Jr. (P)

4. Kyle Busch (P)

5. Joey Logano

6. Kyle Larson

7. Ryan Blaney

8. Brad Keselowski

9. William Byron

10. Clint Bowyer

11. Chase Elliott

12. Alex Bowman

13. Kurt Busch

14. Aric Almirola

15. Ryan Newman

16. Erik Jones

17. Daniel Suarez

18. Jimmie Johnson

19. Paul Menard

20. Chris Buescher

21. Matt DiBenedetto

22. Austin Dillon

23. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

24. Ty Dillon

25. Daniel Hemric

26. Ryan Preece

27. Bubba Wallace

28. Michael McDowell

29. Corey Lajoie

30. John Hunter Nemechek

31. David Ragan

32. Joe Nemechek (i)

33. Landon Cassill (i)

34. JJ Yeley (i)

35. Reed Sorenson

36. Ross Chastain (i)

37. Drew Herring

38. Josh Bilicki (i)

39. BJ McLeod (i)

40. Timmy Hill (i)

(i) - Ineligible to collect Cup Series points

(P)  - Playoff driver

Failed To Qualify - None


  • Denny Hamlin (1st) will not earn an official Cup Series pole position but end the season with three. Fellow Championship 4 contender Kevin Harvick won the most poles in 2019 (six) and has the best average start (8.7).
  • Daniel Hemric (25th) and Ryan Preece (26th) will start side by side as their Rookie of the Year battle comes to a close. Just 10 points separate the two drivers entering the season finale.
  • John Hunter Nemechek (30th) will run his third straight race in the No. 36 for Front Row Motorsports. Nemechek replaced Matt Tifft after Tifft suffered a seizure at Martinsville Speedway; he officially parted ways with the team this week.
  • Retiring drivers Paul Menard (19th) and David Ragan (31st) will run their final race in a full-time ride in the NASCAR Cup Series.
  • Joe Nemechek (32nd) moves to the No. 15 of Premium Motorsports this weekend while running his third straight Cup race for the organization.
  • JJ Yeley (34th) moves into the No. 51 of Rick Ware Racing this weekend from the No. 53. It was announced this weekend he'll be running with the organization full-time in 2020.
  • Ross Chastain (36th) moves to the No. 27 of Premium Motorsports after running much of the year in the No. 15.
  • Drew Herring (37th) makes his Cup Series debut this weekend for Gaunt Brothers Racing. The Toyota Racing Development test driver has one career top-5 finish in 23 career NASCAR Xfinity and Truck starts.
  • Josh Bilicki (38th) returns to Rick Ware Racing for the first time since Texas Motor Speedway. He'll run the No. 53.
  • BJ McLeod (39th) returns to Rick Ware Racing for the first time since Martinsville Speedway last month. He'll run the No. 52.
  • Timmy Hill (40th) returns with MBM Motorsports as they finish their limited schedule this season with the No. 66.


Race: Ford EcoBoost 400

Track: Homestead-Miami Speedway (Homestead, Fla.)

Date: Sunday, Nov. 17

Time: 3 p.m. ET



Distance: 267 laps (400 miles)

Stage 1: 80 Laps

Stage 2: 80 Laps

Final Stage: 107 Laps


Dustin Albino and Mike Neff break down 2019 NASCAR Championship Weekend in the latest edition of the Frontstretch podcast. Who will come out on top in Cup, Xfinity and Trucks?