Skip to main content

NASCAR Starting Lineup for Sunday's Foxwoods Resort Casino 301 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway

NASCAR Starting Lineup for Sunday's Foxwoods Resort Casino 301 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway

NASCAR Starting Lineup for Sunday's Foxwoods Resort Casino 301 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway

The Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series heads north this weekend for the Foxwoods Resort Casino 301, competing at New Hampshire Motor Speedway's picturesque one-mile oval. Typically, it's the perfect spot to escape the summer heat but there's no such luck thus far in 2019. The hottest global summer on record in the Northern Hemisphere means temperatures will rise as high as 97 degrees during practice Saturday afternoon.

This flat, often one-groove racetrack within driving distance of Boston used to have a prime spot on NASCAR's postseason schedule. But a drop in attendance and lackluster competition caused the sport to drop its playoff race here following the 2017 season. This mid-July race date is all that's left, part of a three-week northern swing that includes Pocono, Pennsylvania, and the winding road course of Watkins Glen, New York, in early August.

Only three race teams have combined to win the last 10 NHMS Cup races: Stewart-Haas Racing, Joe Gibbs Racing and Team Penske. That ownership trio remains on top of their game here, earning five of the top six qualifying spots. Brad Keselowski won the pole for Penske with teammates Ryan Blaney (fifth) and Joey Logano (eighth) also flexing their muscles up front.

Only 37 cars and one unchartered team, the No. 27 run by Reed Sorenson and Premium Motorsports, showed up to compete this weekend. That means no one failed to qualify as NASCAR continues its struggle to find new owners, manufacturers and teams to fill the rest of its 40-car grid.

1. Brad Keselowski

2. Kyle Busch

3. Kurt Busch

4. Erik Jones

5. Ryan Blaney

6. Martin Truex Jr.

7. Matt DiBenedetto

8. Joey Logano

9. Aric Almirola

10. Jimmie Johnson

11. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

12. Chase Elliott

13. Daniel Suarez

14. Kevin Harvick

15. Kyle Larson

16. Clint Bowyer

17. Paul Menard

18. Ty Dillon

19. Daniel Hemric

20. David Ragan

21. Austin Dillon

22. William Byron

23. Denny Hamlin

24. Michael McDowell

25. Chris Buescher

26. Ryan Newman

27. Bubba Wallace

28. Ryan Preece

29. Corey Lajoie

30. Matt Tifft

31. Landon Cassill (i)

32. Ross Chastain (i)

33. Reed Sorenson

34. Quin Houff

35. Andy Seuss

36. Austin Theriault

37. Alex Bowman

(i) - Ineligible to collect Cup Series points

Failed To Qualify



  • Keselowski earned his first pole since Michigan International Speedway in August 2017; it’s the 15th of his Cup Series career. New Hampshire Motor Speedway (4) is the only racetrack where he’s earned more than one career pole.
  • Kyle Busch (second) tied his best starting spot of the season. He’s qualified on the front row in two of the last three Cup races (Daytona).
  • Kurt Busch (third) was the highest-qualifying Chevrolet. It’s the first time all year he’s earned top-5 starts in back-to-back races. (He won Kentucky last week after qualifying fourth).
  • Matt DiBenedetto (seventh) earned the best start of his Cup Series career (162 attempts).
  • Daniel Hemric (19th) was the fastest qualifying rookie but saw his car chief, Darin Nestlerode, ejected for failing NASCAR pre-qualifying inspection three times.
  • Denny Hamlin (23rd) and Ryan Newman (26th) will start from the rear of the field after switching to backup cars. They wrecked in Friday’s first practice session.
  • Andy Seuss (35th) makes his Cup Series debut this weekend in Rick Ware Racing’s No. 51 Ford. The 32-year-old is a former champion of NASCAR’s Whelen Southern Modified Tour.
  • Austin Theriault (36th) makes his Cup Series debut this weekend running Rick Ware Racing’s No. 52 Chevrolet. The 23-year-old Maine native has a grand total of 19 starts in NASCAR’s Xfinity and Gander Outdoors Truck Series.


Race: Foxwoods Resort Casino 301

Track: New Hampshire Motor Speedway (Loudon, N.H.)

Date: Sunday, July 21

Time: 3 p.m. ET



Distance: 301 laps (301 miles)

Stage 1: 75 Laps

Stage 2: 75 Laps

Final Stage: 151 Laps


Ryan Newman stops by to talk about his playoff push with Roush Fenway Racing before Dustin Albino and Mike Neff break down New Hampshire in the latest edition of the Frontstretch Podcast.