Skip to main content

NASCAR Starting Lineup for TicketGuardian 500 at ISM Raceway (Phoenix)

NASCAR Starting Lineup for TicketGuardian 500 at ISM Raceway (Phoenix)

NASCAR Starting Lineup for TicketGuardian 500 at ISM Raceway (Phoenix)

Here’s the starting lineup for Sunday’s TicketGuardian 500, the fourth Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race of 2019. Raw speed returns to the sport this weekend as Cup debuts its new, larger spoiler they hope will pair effectively with its 750 horsepower engine on tracks one mile or less. It’s a switch back from what we’ve seen the past two weeks at Atlanta Motor Speedway and Las Vegas Motor Speedway, where the engines were limited to just 550 horsepower.

Just 36 drivers and teams attempted this race, only the second time this century a Cup Series field has shrunk to that size. Only the 36 chartered cars (all guaranteed a spot on the grid) made an attempt.

Ryan Blaney won the pole for Sunday's at ISM Raceway with good friend Chase Elliott starting alongside. It’s the first time in their Cup careers the 20-something rivals have started a race 1-2. 2019 Daytona 500 winner Denny Hamlin starts third to give each manufacturer (Ford, Chevy and Toyota) a spot inside the top three.

1. Ryan Blaney

2. Chase Elliott

3. Denny Hamlin

4. Kyle Busch

5. Brad Keselowski

6. Alex Bowman

7. William Byron

8. Kevin Harvick

9. Martin Truex Jr.

10. Erik Jones

11. Daniel Hemric

12. Joey Logano

13. Austin Dillon

14. Aric Almirola

15. Jimmie Johnson

16. Kurt Busch

17. Paul Menard

18. Ryan Newman

19. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

20. Ty Dillon

21. Ryan Preece

22. Chris Buescher

23. Bubba Wallace

24. Corey Lajoie

25. Matt DiBenedetto

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

26. Clint Bowyer

27. Michael McDowell

28. Daniel Suarez

29. David Ragan

30. Matt Tifft

31. Kyle Larson

32. Landon Cassill

33. Ross Chastain (i)

34. Cody Ware

35. Quin Houff

36. Bayley Currey (i)

(i) – Ineligible to collect Cup Series points

Failed To Qualify



  • Daniel Suarez and Michael McDowell had an altercation after qualifying. The two drivers had to be separated after Suarez claimed McDowell ruined his first round attempt. McDowell, meanwhile claimed Suarez tried to crash his car on the racetrack. "I'm the kind of driver that I'm going to give a lot of respect to you, if you give me respect back," Suarez said to reporter Jeff Gluck after the incident. "If you don't give me respect, I'm going to kick your a**." They’ll start next to each other in the 14th row.
  • Ford has now won three straight poles in the first four races of 2019. It’s Blaney’s sixth pole of his career and the first time he’s won a second pole at a track. (He won the pole at Phoenix in fall 2017).
  • Chase Elliott (2nd) has his fourth straight top-5 Phoenix qualifying effort.
  • Denny Hamlin (3rd) has started inside the top 10 in all four MENCS races this season.
  • Daniel Hemric (11th) was the top qualifying rookie.
  • Quin Houff will make his MENCS debut driving for Spire Motorsports and the No. 77 Chevrolet. The 21-year-old will run a partial schedule with the team this year.
  • Bayley Currey is making his MENCS debut with Rick Ware Racing’s No. 52. BJ McLeod had driven the car in the first three races this season.


Race: TicketGuardian 500

Track: ISM Raceway

Date: Sunday, March 10

Time: 3:30 p.m. ET

TV: FOX, 3 p.m. ET


Distance: 500 kilometers (312 laps)

Stage 1: 75 Laps

Stage 2: 75 Laps

Final Stage: 162 Laps


Aric Almirola talks about the 2019 season to date and how ISM Raceway offers a different set of challenges with Frontstretch podcast host Dustin Albino.