Skip to main content

2013 NFL Regular-Season Awards

Peyton_Manning_001 15-08-14.jpg

The holidays are a time for gift giving. For most NFL players, the ultimate prize is the Vince Lombardi Trophy given to the winning team in the Super Bowl. Outsdie of the highest honor in team sports, however, individual awards are pretty sweet.

We’ve made a list and checked it twice to determine which players are deserving of recognition — and the corresponding trophy-case hardware — for their performances in 2013.

Most Valuable Player
Peyton Manning, QB, Broncos

A four-time MVP already, Manning has outdone himself this year. After exploding out of the blocks with a seven-TD effort on opening night, Manning has not slowed down — posting his best statistical season to date, with 5,211 yards, a record 51 TDs and 10 INTs while leading Denver to a 12–3 record.

Offensive Player of the Year
LeSean McCoy, RB, Eagles

“Shady” produced one of the most memorable efforts of the season with his 217-yard, two-TD effort in a Philly snowstorm during a comeback win over the Lions in Week 14. He has also been the catalyst in coach Chip Kelly’s new offense.

Defensive Player of the Year
Richard Sherman, CB, Seahawks

The leader of Seattle’s “Legion of Boom” is also the league’s INT leader with eight picks returned for 125 yards (15.6 ypr) and a highlight-reel 58-yard TD.

Offensive Rookie of the Year
Eddie Lacy, RB, Packers

With Aaron Rodgers banged up for much of the season’s second half, Lacy has carried the load to keep Title Town in the playoff hunt. The first-year phenom out of Alabama has rushed for 1,112 yards and 10 TDs.

Defensive Rookie of the Year
Sheldon Richardson, DE, Jets

The 6'3", 294-pounder has anchored the Jets’ run defense while also pushing the pocket for 3.5 sacks and 11 tackles for a loss. He also scored a “fat boy” TD as a fullback.

Comeback Player of the Year
Alex Smith, QB, Chiefs

After being benched in San Fran last season, Smith has charged back with a vengeance in Kansas City.

Coach of the Year
Andy Reid, Chiefs

K.C. is just the fourth team in history to earn a trip to the playoffs the season after losing 14 games.

Executive of the Year
John Elway, Broncos

“This one’s for John!” The signing of Wes Welker is just the latest high-profile bull’s-eye at Mile High.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles