Skip to main content

How does the NFL determine what team will be featured on HBO’s Hard Knocks?

Hard Knocks

Hard Knocks

Over 10 seasons, eight different teams have appeared on the behind-the-scenes reality show that documents life in NFL training camp. That means 24 teams have not participated in the Sports Emmy Award-winning show narrated by Ray Donovan star Liev Schreiber. There are three exemptions for teams to avoid the NFL infomercial — having appeared on Hard Knocks in the past 10 years, having a first-year head coach or having made the playoffs in the past two seasons. The Browns, Buccaneers, Giants, Jaguars, Rams, Redskins, Texans, Titans and Vikings all qualified for mandatory inclusion this year, with Houston ultimately getting the nod. Teams are also eligible to “volunteer” for a chance to join the show.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles